Monday 20 November 2017

McManus strikes late to down gritty Muredach's

Summerhill Col, Sligo 3-7
St Muredach's, Ballina 0-11
(after extra-time)
St Gerald's, Castlebar 0-11
St Colman's, Claremorris 0-6

Sligo's Summerhill College clinched their place in the final after extra-time following a thrilling encounter in Tubbercurry yesterday.

Only Niall Colleary's added-time equaliser saved the Sligo secondary school from exiting in normal time.

Patrick Heraghty and Colleary efforts ensured a 2-5 to 0-9 advantage for the Sligo side at the end of the first additional 10 minutes and two more Heraghty points after the extra-time interval -- and a late second McManus goal -- saw them through.

SCORERS -- Summerhill College: N McManus 2-0, N Murphy 1-0, N Colleary 0-3 (0-1f), P Heraghty 0-3, P Logan 0-1 (0-1f). St Muredach's College: D McCormack 0-5 ( 0-3f), P Collins 0-3, C Foody 0-2, B Doherty 0-1.

Summerhill College -- V Cadden; E Flanagan, D Burke, D McCormack; D Brady, K Sweeney, G Feeney; J McGowan (capt), B Monaghan; M O'Hehir, N Murphy, D McConnon; P Heraghty, P Logan, N Colleary. Subs: S Peyton for Monaghan (32), D Healy for D McConnon (49), N McManus for Logan (55), G Kelly for Brady (58), Monaghan for Feeney (60 + 1), C Finneran for Colleary (e-t 13), C Doherty for O'Hehir (e-t 18).

St Muredach's College --M Duffy; N Campion (capt), A Stutt, D Egan; G O'Donnell, C Twomey, C Burke; M Walsh, S McGarry; D McCormack, K Ruttledge, D Twomey; P Collins, B Curley, C Foody. Subs: B Doherty for D Twomey (33), B Higgins for Burke (41), R Neary for Curley (60), N McGowan for C Twomey (e-t 3), P O'Grady for Higgins (e-t 6)

REf -- D Hunt (Roscommon).

DESPITE trailing by five points after 21 minutes of the first half, St Gerald's of Castlebar managed to win out in the end against a game St Colman's side at Flanagan Park in Ballinrobe.

It was some revenge for Gerald's who were beaten by the Claremorris school in the 2009 Connacht final. The side, managed by Joe McCabe and former Mayo manager John Maughan, now go onto this year's decider against Summerhill.

The game was made safe with injury-time insurance points from the lively David Stenson and Conor O'Shea.

Scorers -- St Gerald's: C O'Connor 0-6 (0-3f), D Stenson 0-3, T Walsh, C O'Shea 0-1 each. St Colman's: D Coen (0-1f), J Ronanye (0-2f) 0-2 each, D Macken, R Quirke 0-1 each.

St Gerald's -- F Walsh; J Cotter, N McCarney, J Redmond; M Regan, D Geraghty, J McHale; D Kirby, K Mulgrew; F Durcan, C O'Connor, T Walsh; D Stenson, C Costello, C O'Shea. Subs: P Collins for Redmon (59); P Regan for Stenson (60).

St Colman's -- D Grant; Ciaran Kelly, M Waldron, J King; N Pilbrow, G Commins, A Gallagher; C Crowe, R Quirke; Conor Kelly, D Coen, D Macken; B Healy, J Ronanye, J Hutton. Subs: J Shaughnessy for Macken (37), C Coleman for Conor Kelly ( 44); A Healy for King (56); K Walsh for Quirke (60).

Ref -- M Murphy (Ballinrobe).

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport