Sunday 20 October 2019

McGuckin's quick-fire strike gives Derry edge

Derry 2-10 Tyrone 1-8

Stock image.
Stock image. Sportsdesk

Derry booked their place in the Ulster MFC final by powering past Tyrone at the Athletic Grounds.

Goals from Enda Downey and Conleth McGuckin laid the foundations for a well-organised Oak Leaf side. McGuckin sent the perfect pass for Downey to smash the ball to the roof of the net in the third minute as Derry powered into a 1-2 to 0-1 lead. Tyrone had scores from Shea Daly and Stephen Grogan, with McGuckin and Downey on target at the other end.

When Tarlach Quinn and Mark Hayes hit the target, just a point separated the sides at the end of the opening quarter, but the Oak Leafers had another spell, with Downey and McGuckin on target from frees as they went five clear.

A couple of Grogan frees narrowed the gap, and Hayes was denied by an Aidan Gillan save as Derry led by 1-7 to 0-6 at the break.

McGuckin fired in a Derry goal just 20 seconds after the restart for a seven-point advantage, but three minutes later, Grogan palmed home a Tyrone goal. Derry rediscovered their touch, with McGuckin and PJ McAleese all firing over decisive points.

Scorers - Derry: C McGuckin 1-4 (2f), E Downey 1-3 (3f), N Doyle, E McElhennon, PJ McAleese 0-1 each. Tyrone: S Grogan 1-3 (3f), S Murphy 0-2 (1 '45), T Quinn, S Daly, M Hayes 0-1 .

Tyrone - M McGale; C Quinn, C Devlin, L Kilpatrick; R Duffin, K Barker, O McHugh; T Quinn, M McGleenan; B Groogan, O Mulgrew, C McBride; S Grogan, M Hayes, S Daly. Subs: S Murphy for McBride, C Quinn for Daly, R McHugh for O McHugh, M Devlin for Grogan, A McGrath for C Quinn (BC), P McCallan for Groogan.

Derry - A Gillan; C Milne, T Woods, R McFaul; A McCluskey, J McErlain, E McKeever; N Doyle, I Donaghy; E McElhennon, S Murray, E Doherty; E Hawe, E Downey, C McGuckin. Subs: PJ McAleese for McKeever, D Mooney for Murray, S Kearney for Hawe, C McAteer for McGuckin, D Bloomer for Downey

GAA Newsletter

Expert GAA analysis straight to your inbox.

Ref - K Faloon (Armagh)

Mulligan goal seals Farney progress

Monaghan 2-16 Cavan 2-4

Goals from Aaron Mulligan and Karl Gallagher sealed a comfortable win for Monaghan in a one-sided Ulster semi-final against 14-man Cavan at the Athletic Grounds.

It took Monaghan 14 minutes to breach a fortified Cavan defence via Sean Jones, but they went five ahead when Gallagher drilled a low shot to the net in the 16th minute. The Breffni men seldom ventured forward, but when they did, Donal Keappock brought a fine save from Farney 'keeper Ryan Farrelly.

Cavan were struggling when they were reduced to 14 men, Dara Sheridan receiving two yellow cards in two minutes. And Jones reeled off three points to open up an eight-point lead, before Ryan O'Reilly converted a free for Cavan's only first-half score and it was 1-5 to 0-1 at the break. Cavan pulled back a goal from an Emmet Boylan penalty, awarded for a foul on Caoimhin McGovern. But Mulligan and Donnach Swinburne responded with solo scores for Monaghan, who then finished off a move involving Jones and Gallagher with Mulligan's clinching goal.

Eoin McCaffrey pulled back a late goal for a beaten Cavan side.

Scorers - Monaghan: A Mulligan 1-4 (1f); S Jones 0-6 (2f); K Gallagher 1-0; M Mooney 0-2, D Swinburne, J McGarrell, C Flood, R Hanratty 0-1 each. Cavan: E Boylan (pen), E McCaffrey 1-0 each; F O'Reilly, R O'Reilly (f), C McGovern, D McGurren 0-1.

Monaghan - R Farrelly; R Grimes, J Doogan; S Hanratty; C Flood, B Og Dufaigh, M Meehan; J McGarrell, A Moore; A Mulligan, S Jones, K Gallagher; D Swinburne, L Power, J Irwin. Subs: M Mooney for Irwin, O O'Hanlon for Doogan, J Wilson for Power, E Duffy for Flood, R Hanratty for Jones, D Dempsey for Mulligan.

Cavan - B O'Rourke; N Carolan, T O'Reilly, D Sheridan; P McPhillips, S Donohue, C Boylan; M Vale, R O'Reilly; T Madden, E Boylan, D Keappock; C McGovern, E Clarke, O Brady. Subs: K McGovern for Donohue, P Smith for O'Reilly, F O'Reilly for Carolan, J Trainor for Boylan, E McCaffrey for Madden, D McGurren for T O'Reilly.

Ref - D O'Hare (Down)

Subscribe to The Throw-In,'s weekly GAA podcast in association with Allianz, for the best in GAA discussion and analysis every week, with some of the biggest names in football and hurling from Joe Brolly, Tomás Ó'Sé and John Mullane.

Subscribe and listen to The Throw-In podcast on iTunes or SoundCloud.

Irish Independent

The Throw-In: 'Jim Gavin has achieved what Mick O'Dwyer and Brian Cody couldn't do'

In association with Bord Gáis Energy

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport