Saturday 17 March 2018

McGrath dual class inspires Loughmore

Loughmore-Castleiney 1-9 Moyle Rovers 1-5

hurling star Noel McGrath was superb for Loughmore-Castleiney as the Mid divisional champions shocked last year's winners Moyle Rovers in Cashel yesterday.

Loughmore, champions in 2004, advanced to a first county SFC decider since 2005 as a strong second-half performance accounted for Rovers, who badly missed injured two-time All Star forward Declan Browne.

The sides were deadlocked at 0-5 apiece after a first half that was level five times before Loughmore struck in the 40th minute when Cian Hennessy fired a superb shot to the net. Rovers failed to score in the second half until Peter Acheson fisted home a late consolation goal.

Scorers -- Loughmore-Castleiney: C Hennessy 1-1, N McGrath 0-2, J Egan 0-2 (1f), T King, D Kennedy, E Sweeney & L McGrath 0-1 each. Moyle Rovers: P Acheson 1-0, P Shanahan 0-2 (1f), D Nolan, S Carey & D Foley 0-1 each.

LOUGHMORE-CASTLEINEY -- D McGrath; T Long, E Connolly, W Eviston; T King, C McGrath, A McGrath; J Scully, D Kennedy; J Egan, E Sweeney, M Webster; L McGrath, N McGrath, C Hennessy. Sub: L Treacy for Scully (41).

MOYLE ROVERS -- K Kenrick; D Conway, R Power, R Desmond; S Keating, D O'Dwyer, D Nolan; J Williams, P Acheson; S Carey, B Mulvihill, M Dunne; D Foley, P Foley, P Shanahan. Subs: J Shanahan for Williams (43), J Lonergan for D Foley (46), L Boland for P Shanahan (58), A Kelly for Keating (59).

Ref -- P Russell (Emly).

Tipperary SFC semi-finals

Aherlow 0-12 Cahir 1-7

BARRY Grogan led the way with a 10-point haul as 2009 runners-up Aherlow booked their place in the final.

Grogan hit seven frees and the West kingpins held on for a hard-fought win after Grogan's county team-mate Ciaran McDonald was sent off for a second bookable offence with seven minutes left.

Aherlow could have won more comfortably, as they were the better team throughout and had a late goal disallowed.

Cahir were over-reliant on Benny Hickey, who notched seven points, and they went 29 minutes without a score in the opening half.

Scorers -- Aherlow: B Grogan 0-10 (7f), C McDonald, L Coskeran 0-1 each. Cahir: B Hickey 0-7 (4f, 1 '45), D Lonergan 1-0.

AHERLOW -- B Moroney; M O'Brien, J Hennessy, M Hanley; S Mullins, C McDonald, C Dillon; S Grogan, S Moloney; L Coskeran, D Peters, B O'Brien; C O'Shea, B Grogan, C McDonald. Subs: T Hanley for O'Brien (45), T Fahey for C O'Shea (58), D O'Shea for M O'Brien (60+3).

CAHIR -- B Enright; G Hally, P Frazer, P Hyland; P O'Flaherty, R Costigan, G Berry; L O'Gorman, M Tarrant; D Lonergan, T O'Gorman, C Crowe; R Peters, B Hickey, P McEvoy. Subs: J McGrath for Crowe (36), E Flannery for McEvoy (36), N O'Gorman for Berry (54), A Wall for T O'Gorman (57), J Swords for L O'Gorman (59).

Ref -- K O'Brien (Kilsheelan).

Irish Independent

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport