Tuesday 24 October 2017

McGrath back as Fitzgerald shuffles pack for Tipp clash

Donnchadh Boyle

Donnchadh Boyle

WATERFORD boss Davy Fitzgerald has made three changes to his side for Sunday's Munster hurling final against Tipperary.

Jerome Maher replaces Wayne Hutchinson, Richie Foley comes in for David O'Sullivan and Eoin McGrath ousts Maurice Shanahan.

Michael Meehan makes his first start of the year for Galway in tomorrow's qualifier clash with Meath, while U-21 pair Fintan O'Curraoin in midfield and Thomas Flynn at half-forward make their championship bows.

Wexford are unchanged for their Leinster football final with Dublin.

Tyrone, who face Longford in the qualifiers, have made one change to the side that were beaten by Donegal, with Martin Penrose getting the nod ahead of Owen Mulligan. Stephen O'Neill and Martin Swift will undergo late fitness tests but Joe McMahon, who picked up a heavy knock to the head in that loss, is named at full-back.

Armagh have made four changes for their clash with Wicklow with Mayo import Billy Joe Padden among those to miss out. Vincent Martin, Kieran Toner and Tony Kernan also lose out, with Paul Duffy, Finian Moriarty, James Lavery and Brian Mallon starting.

Peter O'Leary misses out for Laois -- who face Kildare -- with a knee injury. Mark Timmons takes his place. Kildare hand youngster Fionn Dowling his championship debut and make three other changes, with Andriu MacLochlainn, Rob Kelly and Tomas O'Connor coming in.

Carlow make one change for their trip to Antrim as Willie Minchin is recalled at No 14.

Donal O'Grady has made two changes for Limerick's hurling clash with Antrim as Mark O'Riordan replaces Paul Browne while Richie McCarthy comes into the full-forward line for the injured Graeme Mulcahy.

Galway (SF v Meath) -- A Faherty; J Duane, F Hanley, C Forde; G Bradshaw, D Blake, G Sice, J Bergin, F O Currain; T Flynn, M Hehir, M Clancy; M Meehan, P Joyce, C Bane.

Carlow (SF v Antrim) -- T O'Reilly; A Murphy, C Lawlor, B Kavanagh; P Cashin, S Redmond, K Nolan; B Murphy, D Foley; P Hickey, T Walsh, E Finnegan; B Murphy, W Minchin, D St Ledger

Wexford (Leinster SF final v Dublin) -- A Masterson; J Wadding, G Molloy, B Malone; A Flynn, D Murphy, A Doyle; D Waters, R Quinlivan; S Roche, C Lyng, B Brosnan; C Morris, E Bradley, R Barry.

Tyrone (SF v Longford) -- P McConnell, M Swift, J McMahon, R McMenamin, D Harte, C Gormley, P Jordan, K Hughes, S Cavanagh, B Dooher, B McGuigan, P Harte, M Penrose, M Donnelly, S O'Neill.

Longford (SF v Tyrone): D Sheridan; D Brady, B Gilleran, D Reilly; S Mulligan, K Diffley, N Farrell; B McElvaney, M Brady; D Barden, D Masterson, P Barden; D McElligott, B Kavanagh, S McCormack.

Leitrim (SF v Down) -- C McCrann; D Reynolds, J McKeon, P Maguire; D Beck, G Reynolds, B Prior; D Lowe, D Sweeney; R Lowe, E Mulligan, C Clarke; B McDonald, J Glancy, A Croal.

Armagh (SF v Wicklow) -- P Hearty; A Mallon, B Donaghy. P Duffy; A Kernan, C McKeever, F Moriarty; J Lavery, C Vernon; K Dyas, B Mallon, M Mackin; M O'Rourke, S McDonnell, J Clarke

Laois (SF v Kildare) -- E Culliton; C Healy, K Meaney, M Timmons; D Strong, S Julian, P McMahon; P Clancy, B Quigley; C Begley, J O'Loughlin, N Donoher; R Munnelly, D Kingston, MJ Tierney.

Kildare -- S Connolly; A MacLochlainn, M Foley, H McGrillen; G White, M O'Flaherty, O Lyons; J Doyle, H Lynch; P O'Neill, E O'Flaherty, E Callaghan; R Kelly, T O'Connor, F Dowling.

Offaly (SF v Limerick) -- A Mulhall; B Darby, J Quinn, S Pender; S Lonergan, R Brady, K Slattery; R Dalton, N Smith; C McManus, S Brady, N Darby; B Allen, J Coughlan, N Mc Namee

Waterford (SF v London) -- K Cotter; M O'Gorman, T O'Gorman, E Walsh; T Grey, K Connery, W Hennessy; M Ahearne, G Hurney; C O'Keeffe, S Fleming, P Whyte; B Wall, B Phelan, P Hurney.

Limerick (SH v Antrim) -- N Quaid; D Moloney, S Hickey, T Condon; W McNamara, B Geary, G O'Mahoney; D O'Grady, M O'Riordan; N Moran, J Ryan, D Hannon; R McCarthy, K Downes, S Tobin.

Waterford (MSHC final v Tipperary) -- C Hennessy; D Fives, J Maher, N Connors; T Browne, M Walsh, K Moran; S Molumphy, R Foley; E McGrath, S O'Sullivan, P Mahony; J Mullane, S Walsh, B O'Sullivan.

Irish Independent

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport