Tuesday 24 April 2018

McGahan makes difference


It took an extra 20 minutes to separate these teams but Tyrone's Cookstown – led by Owen Mulligan and boasting an array of All-Ireland minor winners – tacked on a point by James McGahan in extra-time to ensure victory.

Points from Mark Caffery and Colm Maye set the early tone for the Mayo side and six minutes elapsed before Shane McGarrity levelled it.

The move of the half saw Aidan Higgins take a quick free giving Anthony Mulligan the faintest opportunity, which he nudged into the net, to put them 1-5 to 0-3 up at the break. Charlestown only added two points in a second half and Lady Luck smiled on Cookstown's Martin Murray when he launched a long ball into the square which hit the net to level things at 1-7 apiece after normal time.

Scorers – Cookstown: M Murray 1-1, S McGarrity, O Mulligan 0-2 each, C Mullen, C O'Hare, J McGahan 0-1 each. Charlestown: C Maye 0-3 ('45',2f), A Mulligan 1-0, R Harran 0-3 (2f), M Caffery 0-1.

Cookstown – M Rea; P McGuirk, S Monaghan, D Hughes; R Pickering, M Murray, M Hughes; C Mullan, C O'Hare; S McGarrity, B Hughes, B Mulligan; J Gilmore, O Mulligan, J Quinn. Subs: B Kelly for Hughes (30), J McGahan for Kelly (40), P Kelly for O'Connor (75).

Charlestown – D Sloyan; G McLoughlin, D McMeel, S Lenehan; A Higgins, G O'Donnell, D Higgins; T Parsons, E Casey; R Haran, M Caffery, P Ward; J Owens, A Mulligan, C Morris. Subs: D Tiernan for Maye (40), O Conway for Ward (40), K Deignan for A Higgins (65), B Parson for D Higgins (78), D Tierney for Ward (74), C Maye for Parsons (79).

Ref – G McCormack (Dublin)

Irish Independent

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport