Sunday 8 December 2019

McCann inspires Saffrons

Antrim 2-14 Leitrim 0-10

Emlyn Mulligan of Leitrim. Photo: David Maher/Sportsfile
Emlyn Mulligan of Leitrim. Photo: David Maher/Sportsfile newsdesk

Antrim cemented their place at the top of Division 4 table with a 10-point win over Leitrim, who failed to score from play over the 70 minutes at Corrigan Park.

The visitors had bossed possession for much of the opening half, however, with Emlyn Mulligan opening the scoring with a free before Niall McKeever restored parity.

The next 25 minutes belonged to Leitrim, but crucially the westerners managed just four points. On 22 minutes, Leitrim led by 0-5 to 0-1, Kevin Conlon converting two '45s, with Ronan Kennedy adding his name to the scoresheet. Mulligan converted his second to open the four-point gap.

However, an unanswered 1-2 turned the game on its head. Tomás McCann finished into the net on 31 minutes after Niall Delargy, McKeever and Sean Burke combined, and the same player converted two frees to leave Antrim 1-5 to 0-6 ahead at the break.

The second half was all Antrim. By the 59th minute, they had opened up a 1-9 to 0-6 gap. Mulligan stopped the rot for Leitrim with their first score for 33 minutes, but Conor Murray and McCann added scores for Antrim. Substitute Brian Neeson superbly lobbed Flynn late on to put a slight sheen on the scoreline.

SCORERS - Antrim: T McCann 1-8 (6f), B Neeson 1-2 (1f), C Murray, K Niblock, S Burke and N McKeever 0-1 each. Leitrim: E Mulligan 0-7 (7f), K Conlon 0-2 (2 '45s), R Kennedy 0-1 (1f).

Antrim - C Kerr 7; K O'Boyle 7, C Burke, J Laverty 8; J Carron 7, R Johnson 7, P McAleer 6; S McVeigh 7, C Murray 8; M Fitzpatrick 7, S Burke 6, M Johnson 6; K Niblock 7, N McKeever 7, T McCann 9. Subs: N Delargy 6 for McAleer (23), P McBride 7for S Burke (43), R Murray 7 for Johnson (43), M Sweeney 6 for Niblock (50), B Neeson 7 for Fitzpatrick (71).

Leitrim - B Flynn 8; R Gallagher 6, N Woods 7, M McWeeney 6; P Maguire 8, G Reynolds 7, S McWeeney 7; D Wrynn 7, S Moran 6; J Rooney 6, E Mulligan 8, K Conlan 8; C Gilheaney 6, J McGrail 6, R Kennedy 7. Subs: M Murphy 6 for Woods (46) (black), A Croal 6 for Moran (53), B Prior 7 for McWeeney (59) (black).

GAA Newsletter

Expert GAA analysis straight to your inbox.

Ref - N Cullen (Fermanagh).

Who is your sportstar of the year?

Vote in the Irish Independent Sport Star Awards and you could win the ultimate sports prize.

Prizes include, tickets to Ireland's against Scotland in the Six Nations, All Ireland football and hurling final tickets and much more.

Simply click here to register your vote

Irish Independent

The Throw In: From 1955 heartbreak to 2019's five in-a-row - Inside the Decades of the Dubs

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport