Monday 26 August 2019

McCaffrey and Reid the favourites for top individual awards

Jack McCaffrey
Jack McCaffrey
Colm Keys

Colm Keys

Dublin look set to break through the century mark for the number of football All-Stars accumulated when the 2015 GAA/GPA Opel team is revealed.

And a Dublin footballer will claim the Footballer of the Year award for the fourth time in six years at tonight's ceremony.

All three nominees for the honour were key members of Jim Gavin's all-conquering Dublin side with Jack McCaffrey a slight favourite ahead of colleagues Philly McMahon and Bernard Brogan.

McCaffrey has been a consistent force for Dublin in league and championship but McMahon came strong at the end of the season, outscoring his direct opponents Aidan O'Shea and Colm Cooper by 1-3 to 0-1 in his last two games.

Bernard Brogan (2010), Alan Brogan (2011) and Michael Darragh Macauley (2013) have already been honoured as the No 1 footballers in this decade. Dublin are also expected to dominate the All-Star team from their 11 nominations.

Their current haul is 96 so four or more will push them beyond the 100 mark.

The most Dublin All-Stars was 1977 when they won nine.

Individual awards are decided by inter-county players in a ballot conducted among squad members.

GAA Newsletter

Expert GAA analysis straight to your inbox.

For the second successive year Kilkenny duo Richie Hogan and TJ Reid and Tipperary's Seamus Callanan have made the shortlist for Hurler of the Year. Hogan is the holder of the award but Reid is favourite for this year's prize.

Mayo's Diarmuid O'Connor is a strong favourite for the Young Footballer of the Year, while Galway pair Cathal Mannion and Jason Flynn and Waterford's Tadhg De Búrca are vying for the Young Hurler of the Year award.

Indo Sport

The Throw-In: Tipp throw off the shackles while Kilkenny’s soul-searching begins

In association with Bord Gáis Energy

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport