Thursday 18 January 2018

Mayo name unchanged team for Kerry replay

Mayo manager James Horan
Mayo manager James Horan

Mayo have named their team for Saturday's All-Ireland Football semi-final replay clash with Kerry at the Gaelic Grounds in Limerick (throw-in 5pm).

Mayo manager James Horan has kept faith in the side that started last Sunday's drawn match in Croke Park and names an unchanged side.

Lee Keegan had his red-card rescinded for a petulant kick on Johnny Buckley and starts at wing-back.

Andy Moran and Michael Conroy made impacts from the bench last Sunday and will have to do so again as they are named among the replacements.

MAYO (SF v Kerry): Robert Hennelly; Tom Cunniffe, Ger Cafferkey, Keith Higgins; Lee Keegan, Colm Boyle, Donal Vaughan; Jason Gibbons, Seamus O’Shea; Kevin McLoughlin, Aidan O'Shea, Jason Doherty; Cillian O'Connor, Alan Freeman, Alan Dillon.


DESPITE his game-saving heroics last week there is no place for Kieran Donaghy in Kerry's starters for their All-Ireland semi-final replay with Mayo.

Manager Eamonn Fitzmaurice has named an unchanged team for tomorrow's big rematch in Limerick.

The Austin Stacks man, who has battled back from two injury setbacks this season, came off the bench for his first appearance of the year last Sunday.

Donaghy originally came in to midfield in the 59th minute, but when he went to full-forward and reprised his high-fielding antics of old, his partnership with James O'Donoghue proved vital to Kerry battling back from five points down.

KERRY (SF v Mayo) - B Kelly; M O Se, A O'Mahony, S Enright; P Murphy, P Crowley, F Fitzgerald (capt); A Maher, D Moran; M Geaney, J Buckley, D Walsh; S O'Brien, P Geaney, J O'Donoghue.

Online Editors

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport