Wednesday 22 May 2019

Masterson leads the way

Kildare 4-18 Carlow  0-8

Kildare's Jimmy Hyland was on target. Photo: Piaras Ó Mídheach/Sportsfile
Kildare's Jimmy Hyland was on target. Photo: Piaras Ó Mídheach/Sportsfile Sportsdesk

Ten players shared in the scoring as Kildare handed Carlow a 22-point thrashing at Netwatch Cullen Park.

Kildare, who advance to a Leinster semi-final meeting with Dublin, were quickly into their stride and had four unanswered points from play on the board in the opening eight minutes, from Sam Doran (two), Jimmy Hyland and Darragh Ryan.

In the 11th minute Conor Doyle opened Carlow’s account with a free, and the hosts were still just about in the game at the interval, trailing by 0-8 to 0-3.

Hyland increased the Lilies lead with a free immediately after the restart. Carlow responded with points from Ross Dunphy and Conor Crowley but another Hyland free restored the five-point lead.

The game was up for the home side when Kildare corner-forward Paddy Woodgate hammered home a goal on 39 minutes.

Further goals followed from substitute Niall Murphy, seconds after he joined the action, and – both in injury-time – from towering midfielder, captain and man of the match Aaron Masterson and then Shane O’Sullivan.

Carlow were unable to match Kildare in terms of physique and were a well beaten team by the time referee Niall Ward blew for full-time.

Scorers – Kildare: A Masterson 1-2, J Hyland 0-5 (2fs), P Woodgate, N Murphy 1-1 each, S O’Sullivan 1-0, P Nash 0-3 (1f), DJ Early (2fs), S Doran 0-2 each, D Ryan, J Barrett (f) 0-1 each. Carlow: C Crowley 0-3 (1f), Conor Doyle (f), R Dunphy, Cian Doyle, N Roche, N Kane 0-1 each.

GAA Newsletter

Expert GAA analysis straight to your inbox.

Kildare – A O’Neill; M Dempsey, M Barrett, D J Earley; S Comerford, J Gibbons, R O’Giollan; A Masterson, D Marnell; D Ryan, P Nash, J Bambrick; J Hyland, S Doran, P Woodgate. Subs: J Barrett for Comerford (30); S O’Sullivan for Marnell (38); N Murphy for Doran (42); C Costigan for Woodgate (49); J Cully for Hyland (49); M B Symonds for Ryan (51).

Carlow – J Rowan; C O’Doherty, J Kehoe, S Molloy; D Ruth, J Moore, C Lomax; T Bric, N Roche; Cian Doyle, R Dunphy, Conor Doyle; T Roche, C Crowley, R Kane. Subs: M Bambrick for Bric (48); N Cawley for Cian Doyle (48); C Myers for Lomax (49); A Lillis for Ruth (53); D Fitzpatrick for Conor Doyle (59); C Ryan for Molloy (59).

Ref – N Ward (Westmeath).

Irish Independent

The Throw-In: Limerick’s uphill task, Tipp’s ruthlessness and can Cork push on?

In association with Bord Gáis Energy

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport