| 5.2°C Dublin

Marren proves shining light to help Sligo beat the drop

Sligo's rollercoaster season ended in relief as victory over Wicklow at Markievicz Park and Antrim's defeat to Monaghan saw them avoid relegation.

As a result, Antrim and Wicklow are relegated, while Sligo begin the countdown to their tricky championship date with London in Ruislip.

Once more, Adrian Marren was Sligo's shining light, and his three points in the last 15 minutes proved crucial as the hosts eventually overcame a plucky Wicklow, who could have stayed in Division 3 by winning well in the north-west and if Antrim had fallen by a massive margin in Clones.

Wicklow kept in touch in the first half – the neat John McGrath supplied four of their seven points, including a mighty equaliser before the break to make it 0-7 to 1-4.

Harry Murphy's charges reeled off three points without reply inside the opening 10 minutes of the second period to put Sligo on the back foot, 0-10 to 1-4, but the visitors only scored once more – McGrath's fifth point after 51 minutes – while Sligo charged back.

Sligo, who had netted in the first half through Pat Hughes, brought on Niall Murphy and he popped over two points to nudge his side ahead. Once in front, Sligo closed out the game and could even absorb the enforced departure of Charlie Harrison through injury.

Man of the match: J Kilcullen (Sligo)

Scorers – Sligo: A Marren 0-6 (3fs), M Breheny 0-3 (2fs), P Hughes 1-0, N Murphy 0-2, B Egan 0-1. Wicklow: J McGrath 0-5 (3fs), A O'Malley 0-2, K Murphy, P McWalter, D Healy, P Earls 0-1 each

Sligo – P Greene 6; C Harrison 6, R Donovan 8, K Cryan 5; K Cawley 5, A McIntyre 6, B Curran 7; E Mullen 5, J Kilcullen 9; S McManus 6, P Hughes 5, B Egan 5; M Breheny 7, K Sweeney 4, A Marren 8. Subs: T Taylor for J Kilcullen (5), J Kelly 5 for C Harrison (49), N Murphy 7 for K Sweeney (52), T Taylor 5 for E Mullen (55).

Wicklow – R Lambert 6; C Hyland 6, D Power 6, A Byrne 6; D Hayden 6, S Byrne 6, D Healy 6; J Stafford 6, A McLoughlin 6; K Murphy 6, P MacWalter 5, D Woods 5; J McGrath 8, A O'Malley 6, P Earls 6. Subs: N Mernagh 6 for D Woods (51), L Benson 5 for P MacWalter (61), P Dalton 5 for K Murphy (61), J Bolger for S Byrne (65).

Ref – B Cassidy (Derry)

Irish Independent