Sport Gaelic Football

Tuesday 21 November 2017

Magnificent seven for Errigal hotshots

Errigal Ciaran 0-13 Dromore 0-8 TYRONE SFC FINAL

Errigal Ciaran swept to their seventh county football title by producing a second-half whirlwind performance at Healy Park.

Champions Dromore were overwhelmed in the final 20 minutes, outscored by eight points to one as they surrendered the O'Neill Cup.

Nine players were on the scoresheet for an Errigal side that got the tactical battle spot-on, and snuffed out all the Dromore dangermen.

Dromore dominated the opening 10 minutes, but managed just one point, a superb Ryan McMenamin effort from wide on the right.

Errigal drew level through Ronan McCrory in the ninth minute, and Davy Harte was once again the provider as Bryan Horisk cancelled out Sean McDonnell's score.

Errigal began to get the match-ups right, going man to man on all the key Dromore attackers, most significantly Aidan McCrory getting on top in his duel with Eoin McCusker.

The men from the Ballygawley parish went in front for the first time through Caolan Tierney, and the champions had gone 18 minutes without a score when Niall Sludden finally found a way through to slot over a point.

Errigal led by 0-5 to 0-3 at the interval, but the O'Neill Cup holders exploded into action on the restart, hitting the first four points of the second half to go back in front.

But the 2003 Ulster champions stepped up the tempo, with Davy and Peter Harte inspiring with their strong running from the back as Dromore struggled to respond.

Both Hartes thumped over inspirational scores as the challengers proceeded to outscore the champions by eight points to one in the final quarter.

Ronan McCrory, a tireless worker all afternoon, punched over his second point, and Damian 'Daisy' McDermott got his name on the scoresheet.

Cormac McGiney punched the air after slotting over the 59th-minute point which he knew made Dromore's task impossible.

The reigning champions finished with 14 men when Cathal McCarron received a straight red card, as Errigal strode to victory.

Scorers -- Errigal Ciaran: T Canavan 0-3 (2f), B Horisk, R McCrory 0-2 each, M McCrory, D Harte, D McDermott, C Tierney, C McGinley, P Harte 0-1 each. Dromore: E McCusker 0-3 (3f), N Sludden, C McCarron, C McCullagh, R McMenamin, S McDonnell 0-1 each.

Errigal Ciaran -- J Devine; A McCrory, M McCrory, C Quinn; S Tierney, P Harte, D Harte; Cormac McGinley, E McGinley; Ciaran McGinley, T Canavan, C Tierney; D McDermott, B Horisk, R McCrory. Subs: D Canavan for C Tierney, P Quinn for S Tierney

Dromore -- P Ward; F O'Neill, S O'Neill, K Donnelly; C O'Hara, R McMenamin, C McCarron; H McNulty, S McDonnell; N Sludden, R McNabb, E O'Neill; P Montague, E McCusker, C McCullagh. Subs: C O'Neill for Montague, T McCarron for E O'Neill.

Ref -- C O'Hagan (Brackaville).

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport