Tuesday 10 December 2019

Lowry and Carr on the rampage as UCD cruise past Carlow

UCD 2-13 Carlow 1-7

Laois player Eoin Lowry was in in superb form for UCD
Laois player Eoin Lowry was in in superb form for UCD
Independent.ie Newsdesk

Independent.ie Newsdesk

UCD proved too strong for a plucky Carlow side at Netwatch Cullen Park, with a brace of goals midway through the second half undermining the home challenge.

In a competitive first half Carlow pretty much held their own, even if their scoring chances were limited by virtue of adopting a seven-man defensive policy.

With Laois man Eoin Lowry picking off some neat points from play in a low-scoring opening half UCD - fielding players from eight counties - led by 0-6 to 0-3 at the break.

Carlow's lone score from play was a point from corner-forward Chris Blake on 29 minutes.

The home side remained in contention during the opening stages of the second half but two goals in the space of as many minutes from corner-forwards Lowry and Robert Carr took the game away from Turlough O'Brien's men.

Both Lowry and Carr finished with an impressive 1-4 apiece.

Carlow battled to the last and scored a late consolation goal from centre-forward Darragh Foley, who finished with 1-5, 1-1 from play.

It was Carlow's third straight defeat in the competition, having also lost to Meath and Laois.

GAA Newsletter

Expert GAA analysis straight to your inbox.

Scorers - UCD: E Lowry, R Carr 0-1f) 1-4 each, L Kelly, P Kingston (f), P Mannion (f), E O'Byrne, N O'Reilly 0-1 each.

Carlow: D Foley 1-5 (0-4fs,) C Blake, P Broderick (f) 0-1 each.

UCD - E Keogh; S O'Dea, D Hyland, J Feehan; D Byrne, M Fitzimons, N McInerney; J Barry, L Casey; F Andrews, P Mannion, L Kelly; R Carr, P Kingston, E Lowry. Subs: D Murphy for Kelly (h/t); N O'Reilly for McInerney (h/t); S Mulvany for Feehan (44); M Cahalan for O'Dea (44); E O'Byrne for Mannion (54); B Byrne for Lowry (67).

Carlow - A O'Brien; B Kavanagh, D St Ledger, G Power; G Kelly, J Murphy, H Hegarty; B Murphy, M Ware; E Finnegan, D Foley, A Kelly; C Blake, J J Smith, D Hayden. Subs: M Fitzgerald for St Ledger (27); P Broderick for Blake (48); M Rennick for Power (48); D Lunny for Smith (50); P O'Halloran fosr Ware (59); B Cawley for Hegarty (59).

Ref - G Whelan (Wicklow).

Who is your sportstar of the year?

Vote in the Irish Independent Sport Star Awards and you could win the ultimate sports prize.

Prizes include, tickets to Ireland's against Scotland in the Six Nations, All Ireland football and hurling final tickets and much more.

Simply click here to register your vote

Indo Sport

The Throw In: From 1955 heartbreak to 2019's five in-a-row - Inside the Decades of the Dubs

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport