Sunday 19 January 2020

Louth on manager hunt as McGrath steps down

Pete McGrath has stepped down as Louth manager
Pete McGrath has stepped down as Louth manager
Donnchadh Boyle

Donnchadh Boyle

Louth are on the hunt for a new manager as Pete McGrath has stepped down after just one season on charge.

McGrath, who steered his native Down to All-Ireland titles in 1991 and 1994, had been considering his position after a poor first season at the helm.

Louth suffered relegation from Division 2 without winning a game and then lost to Carlow in the Leinster Championship.

They recovered to beat London in Ruislip in the qualifiers before losing out to Leitrim.

"Following on from discussions with our senior football manager, we wish to confirm that Pete McGrath has decided to step down from the position of manager of the Louth senior football team," a Louth statement read.

"Louth GAA would like to place on record our appreciation to Pete and his backroom team for all their efforts and commitment with our senior squad this year."


Kevin McStay has made three changes to his Roscommon side as they look to bounce back from their Connacht final defeat to Galway and secure a place in the 'Super 8s' at the expense of Armagh.

GAA Newsletter

Expert GAA analysis straight to your inbox.

The experienced Seánie McDermott comes into the side after not featuring against the Tribesmen, while Ultan Harney and Cathal Cregg are also called up with Brian Stack, Fintan Cregg and Niall Kilroy the players to make way.

Elsewhere, Niall Morgan returns for tomorrow's qualifier against Cork as Tyrone manager Mickey Harte continues his goalkeeper rotation policy. The Edendork man's inclusion is the only change from the team that defeated Cavan by 0-18 to 1-12 last weekend. Mark Bradley is fit again and will take his place on the bench.

Roscommon (SF v Armagh) - C Lavin; D Murray, N McInerney, S McDermott; J McManus, P Domican, C Delaney; C Compton, T O'Rourke; C Murtagh, C Cregg, E Smith; D Smith, U Harney, D Murtagh.

Tyrone (SF v Cork) - M O'Neill; P Hampsey, R McNamee, M McKernan; T McCann, F Burns, P Harte; C Cavanagh, D McClure; M Donnelly, N Sludden, C Meyler; C McShane, R Donnelly, C McAliskey.

Irish Independent

The Throw In: From 1955 heartbreak to 2019's five in-a-row - Inside the Decades of the Dubs

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport