Monday 19 February 2018

Loughmore seal third Tipp title in four years

Loughmore-Castleiney 1-9 Moyle Rovers 1-6

Noel McGrath, Loughmore-Castleiney
Noel McGrath, Loughmore-Castleiney

A third county senior football title in four years went the way of Loughmore-Castleiney after a win which saw them out-pace Moyle Rovers during a tense, low-scoring second period.

It’s been a great year for many of the Loughmore men, most notably the McGrath brothers with multiple All-Ireland medals, but the dual club celebrated as wildly as ever at the final whistle in Cashel.

The first half saw Loughmore-Castleiney start and finish the stronger team, going 0-3 in front without reply in the opening minutes before Moyle Rovers got off the mark in the 12th minute with a Stephen Quirke ’45.

As the half progressed Moyle Rovers came more into it, although they shot seven wides during a wasteful period, but led briefly just before the break when Dara Ryan brilliantly finished off a move created by Luke and Liam Boland with a clinical low shot to the net.

That made it 1-3 to 0-4 in their favour but, seconds later, Cian Hennessy restored Loughmore-Castleiney’s advantage with a goal at the other hand, despite the best efforts of Rovers’ goalkeeper Ian Browne.

Points by Cian Hennessy and John McGrath (left) put them 1-6 to 1-3 ahead at the interval.

Scores were at a premium in the second half with Moyle Rovers failing to score in the third quarter, while Loughmore-Castleiney gradually pulled further ahead, with Liam Treacy and Liam McGrath sending over fine efforts, the latter twice.

A black card for hurling star Noel McGrath in the closing minutes couldn’t prevent Loughmore from prevailing.

Scorers: Loughmore-Castleiney: C Hennessy 1-2, N McGrath 0-2, J McGrath, L Treacy, L McGrath, J Hennessy, A McGrath 0-1 each; Moyle Rovers : D Ryan 1-0, S Quirke 0-3 (1 ’45, 2f), L Boland 0-3 (2f).

Loughmore-Castleiney: D Brennan, L Egan, J Meagher, T McGrath, J Ryan, C McGrath, J Hennessy, N McGrath, J McGrath, B McGrath, L Treacy, A McGrath, L McGrath, E Sweeney, C Hennessy. Subs: W Eviston for N McGrath (b/c 56), E Connolly for E Sweeney (58).

Moyle Rovers: I Browne, P Morrissey, A Campbell, D Lyne, D McGrath, R Mulcahy, T Fitzgerald, L Boland, D Owens, D Foley, S Quirke, S Foley, L Boland, C Condon, T Hill. Subs: D Ryan for T Fitzgerald (10m), M Dunne for C Condon (50m).

Ref: David Grogan (Aherlow).

Online Editors

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport