Wednesday 21 February 2018

Limerick go up after Leitrim rout

Limerick 1-22
Leitrim 0-9

Limerick turned on the style and became the leag-ue's top scorers when they romped back to Division 3 for next season. They also earned a final against Waterford and also remain prime contenders for the €10,000 Fair Play award.

The Treaty County opened the scoring with three points from John Mullane, John Galvin and James Ryan. It took nine minutes before Michael Foley pointed the first of five frees for Leitrim who offered no serious opposition despite wasting two goal chances.

By half-time Limerick were running away with it and led by 0-11 to 0-5 and Leitrim could manage only a single point from play in the second. A Seanie Buckley penalty in the second half ended the contest.

Scorers -- Limerick: I Ryan, G Collins (3f) 0-6 each, S Buckley 1-0 (pen), J O'Donovan, J Ryan, and C Fitzgerald 0-2 each, J Mullane, J Galvin, E O'Connor, J Cooke 0-1 each. Leitrim: M Foley 0-5 (5f), D Gilhooley 0-2, S Canning and R Kennedy 0-1 each.

Limerick -- B Scanlon; M O'Riordan, P Browne, A Lane; D Carroll, S Gallagher, P Ranahan; J O'Donovan, J Galvin; J Mullane, C Joyce-Power, S Buckley; G Collins, J Ryan, I Ryan. Subs: E Joy for Gallagher (41), E O'Connor for Joyce-Power (43), C Fitzgerald, for Buckley (52), J Cooke for Mullane (60).

Leitrim -- G Phelan; D Beck, J McKeon, D Reynolds; B Prior, S Foley, C Clarke; S Canning, T Beirne; P McGuinness, D O'Connor, M Foley; J Glancy, R Kennedy, P Howard. Subs: C Maguire for Beck and B Gallagher for Kennedy (both 52) C Richardson for Canning (54) D Sweeney for O'Connor (57).

Ref -- G McCormack (Dublin).

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport