Thursday 19 September 2019

Leinster MFC round 1 round up

McGauran picked out Darragh Seery who found Buckley to fire home in the first-half. Stock photo: Sportsfile
McGauran picked out Darragh Seery who found Buckley to fire home in the first-half. Stock photo: Sportsfile Sportsdesk

Westmeath 2-8 Longford 0-8

LUKE BUCKLEY and Ben McGauran’s strikes gave Wesmeath the edge over neighbours Longford at Pearse Park. 

McGauran picked out Darragh Seery who found Buckley to fire home in the first-half. McGauran struck after the restart to settle matters.

Scores  – Longford: T Hussey, J Duggan, (2f) 0-3 each. C Leonard, K McGann 0-1 each. Westmeath: B McGauran (1f) 1-2, L Buckley 1-0, D Hill 0-2, D Mnguni, C Gibney, R Hanley, D Seery 0-1 each.

Longoford – C Skelly, S McCormack, S O’Sullivan, C Gilligan; D Kelly, D Kurkin, C O’Reilly; C Leonard, R Prior; A Farrell, K McGann, D Coady; J Duggan, T Hussey, S Ryan. Subs:  K Tansey for D Coady ht, F Hourican for D Kelly 40th, C Scanlon for R Prior 46th, R Sheahan for A Farrell 43rd,  M Hynes for J Duggan 59th, J Macken for K Tansey 64th.

Westmeath – J Mulkerrin, D Smyth, D Fagan, A Treanor: D Seery, E Martin, J Gahan; C Gibney, F O’Hara; C Lawlow, L Buckley, D Mnguni; B McGauran, D Hill, D Leech. Subs: S Reid for C Lawlor 45th, R Hanley for L Buckley 50th, C Daly for D Fagan 51s.

Ref – S Murphy (Louth)

Kildare 1-16  Wicklow 0-12

ADAM CONNEELY’S 57th minute goal helped Kildare overcome Wicklow’s stiff challenge at St Conleth’s Park last night.

GAA Newsletter

Expert GAA analysis straight to your inbox.

Wicklow levelled the scores at 0-8, having trailed by three at the break, before Conneely’s two points and late goal sealed victory.

Scorers – Kildare: A Conneely 1-2, E Bagnal 0-5 (4fs), E Meehan (1f), A Browne 0-3 each, A Boyle, T Gill, J O’Neill 0-1 each. Wicklow: E Doyle 0-5(4fs), M Ging 0-5 (2f), S Daly, B Hickey 0-1 each.

Kildare – C Burke; R Comeau, O O’Rourke, T Gill, M Maguire, C Boran, J Quinn; K Eustace, S Flynn; A Conneely, J Owens, C O’Brien, E Meehan, E Bagnal, A Browne. Subs: A Boyle for Owens, 36; O Milmoe for O’Brien, 54; J O’Neill for Browne, 57; L Gorman for Meehan, 60+1

Wicklow – A Nolan; D Healy, S Kearney, J Brady, D Cooney, T Moran, C McDonald; A Daly Dunne, L Harney; J Prendergast, S Daly, B Hickey, J Kirwan M Ging, E Doyle. Subs: E O’Neill for Prendergast, 47; T Shanahan for Daly, 57; S Coffey for Kearney, 57.

Ref – C Dwyer (Offaly).


Louth 3-16  Kilkenny 3-8

Louth were made to work to see off DJ Carey’s determined Kilkenny side at Nowlan Park.

Kilkenny hadn’t entered the competition since 2016 but were very competitive. Luke Matthews’ goal was decisive for Louth, while Vincent O’Grady got two goals as the Cats trailed 1-11 to 2-3 at half-time.

SCORERS – Kilkenny: V O’Grady 2-1 (1-0 pen, 1f); R Murphy 1-4 (4f); T Coogan 0-2; O Carroll 0-1f. Louth: Luke Matthews 1-7 (4f); B Collier 1-3; C Shevlin 1-2; T Gray 0-2; D Leavy and K McElroy 0-1 each.

LOUTH – N Brady; A Grant, P Lynch, MJ Hanlon; J McDonnell, M Staunton, P McKenny; C Shevlin, T Rice; K McElroy, D Leavy, P Murtagh; B Collier, L Matthews, T Gray. Subs: D McArdle for K McElroy (39), R McBride for MJ Hanlon (41), H O’Neill for M Staunton (41), J Ward for C Shevlin (49), P Downey for P Murtagh (57).

KILKENNY – J Conway; C Arthurs, A Walsh, F Suffin; T Carroll, J McNamara, O Henebery; B O’Shea, S O’Dwyer; B O’Callaghan, C Walsh, T Coogan; E Crowley, R Murphy, V O’Grady. Subs: O Carroll for B O’Shea (h-t) F Moore for F Suffin (45),F Blanche for T Carroll (45), B McDonald for V O’Grady (58).

REF – S Fagan (Wicklow)


Offaly 1-10  Wexford 1-9

Cormac Delaney’s 43rd-minute penalty proved crucial as Offaly edged out Wexford in Enniscorthy.

Jack O’Leary’s goal helped Wexford to lead 1-4 to 0-5 at half-time. Offaly then struck for Delaney’s goal after Morgan Tynan had been fouled and they held off a late surge from the home side.

Scorers – Wexford: J O’Leary 1-5 (5f); R O’Connor 0-2; R Connolly, J O’Sullivan 0-1 each. Offaly: M Tynan 0-7 (6f); C Delaney 1-0 pen; A Kelly, J Sheerin, D Flynn 0-1 each.

Wexford – T Kennedy; E Doyle, L Newport, P Darcy; J Murphy, J Bolger, B Cushe; L Whelan, S Kehoe; L Crowley, R O’Connor, C Regan; L Doyle, J O’Leary, T Kavanagh. Subs: T Malone for Kavanagh (26); R Connolly for Murphy (44); J Curtis for Crowley (46); J O’Sullivan for Doyle (BC, 62).

Offaly – C Ryan; D Carty, F Dempsey, D Dempsey; J Furlong, A Strong, L Pearson; R Strong, L Egan; A Byrne, C Delaney, A Kelly; H Plunkett, M Tynan, D Flynn. Subs: J Sheerin for A Strong (32); C White for Byrne (50); M Fox for Plunkett (59).

Ref – D Hickey (Carlow)


Dublin 4-10  Meath 2-10

Second-half goals from Ryan O’Dwyer and Luke Swan proved key as Dublin overcame Meath. Aaron Chinchilla goaled early for the visitors with Dublin hitting back via Seán Kinsella. Robbie Bolger and Meath’s David Bell had further goals to leave it 2-6 apiece at half-time.

Scorers – Dublin: R O’Dwyer 1-2; S Kinsella 1-1, L Swan 1-1; F Murray 0-4 (3f); R Bolger 1-0, D O’Dowd, A Rogers 0-1. Meath: D Bell 1-1; A Chinchilla 1-0; N Finnerty 0-3; E Frayne (2f), B Thompson (2f), P Sheridan 0-2 each.

Dublin – H O’Sullivan; C Tyrell, B Millist, C Archer; A Watson, S Forker, J Lundy; L Murphy, D O’Dowd; R O’Dwyer, S Kinsella, A Rogers; R Bolger, F Murray, D Fagan. Subs: L Swan for Rogers (h-t), T Brennan for Fagan (40), K Conroy for Forker (50), L Curran for Bolger (50), H Colclough for Murphy (60), E Gannon for Archer (62).

MeatH – D Pluck; H Corscadden, A King, J Fagan; H Ryan, E Corrigan, C Caulfield; P Sheridan, J Carolan; D Bell, A Chinchilla, C Hegarty; B Thompson, N Finnerty, E Frayne. Subs: S Smyth for Corrigan (23), E Ehichoya for Thompson (46), S O’Donoghue for Ryan (48), Corrigan for Chinchilla (55), Thompson for Bell (59).

Ref – A Coyne (Westmeath)


Carlow 0-11  Laois 0-11

BRIAN WHELAN earned Laois a draw from a pointed free which was practically the last action of the game.

Carlow will feel they should have won at IT Carlow having spurned two goal chances in the first half as the teams went score for score, tying 0-5 at half-time.

Scorers – Carlow: D Doyle 0-6 (3f); D Nolan 0-3 (1f, 1 ’45); A Keating 0-2. Laois: C Dunne (1f), B Whelan (3f) 0-3 each; R Murphy 0-2; M Kehoe, C Goode, C Burke 0-1 each.

Carlow – C Kavanagh; S Moran, B Lawlor, J Doyle; P McDonnell, S Buggy, M Behan; D Brennan, J McCullagh; F Fitzpatrick, B Crotty, P Regan; D Doyle, D Nolan, A Keating. Subs: R Bulmer for Crotty (37); J Dowling for Fitzpatrick (48); D McKernan for J Doyle (inj) (50); A Smith for Moran (inj) (62); O Dillon for Keating (64).

Laois – M O’Connell; N Little, S Greene, E Critchley; J Kelly, S Fingleton, M Kehoe; B Brennan, C Goode; R Murphy, C Dunne, P O’Flynn; O Hooney, C Burke, B Whelan. Subs: C O’Neill for O’Flynn (h-t); P Hosey for Brennan (41); K Swayne for Dune (44).

Ref – D O’Connor (Dublin)

Indo Sport

The Throw-In: 'Jim Gavin has achieved what Mick O'Dwyer and Brian Cody couldn't do'

In association with Bord Gáis Energy

Also in Sport