Tuesday 16 July 2019

Lehane fires Shels to first title

Shelmaliers 4-14 Kilanerin 1-7 (Wexford SFC final replay)

Stock photo: Sportsfile
Stock photo: Sportsfile

Independent.ie Sportsdesk

Giving one of the most emphatic displays seen in a final for many years, Shelmaliers created their own piece of history in winning a first ever title with a comprehensive victory over a shattered Kilanerin in this replay at Innovate Wexford Park on Saturday.

From the outset Shels dominated, inspired by a Simon Donohoe goal inside 90 seconds, and going into the break with a 1-6 to 0-1, with Kilanerin's solitary response a Matty Forde pointed free.

When Shelmaliers repeated the start to the opening period through an A J Lehane goal, the result was a formality, as Kilanerin's dreams of adding a senior title to last year's intermediate title lay in ruins.

Shels, who eased into a 4-10 to 0-3 lead by the end of the third quarter, as both Ross Banville and Eoghan Nolan goaled.

Kilanerin were unable to stifle the attacking play of the eventual winners, having to wait until the 57th minute for their goal - a Matty Forde penalty. But it was the black and amber boys who celebrated on the final whistle, setting up a Leinster Club Championship outing against Meath champions Dunboyne on Sunday next.

Scorers - Shelmaliers: AJ Lehane 1-3, E Nolan 1-2, S Donohoe 1-1, R Banville 1-0, C McCabe 0-4 (2f, 1pen), B Malone, G Malone, T Barron, J Donohoe 0-1 each. Kilanerin: M Forde 1-4 (1-0 pen, 4f); S Forde (f), N Hughes, P Hughes 0-1 each.

Shelmaliers - J Gordon; D O'Brien, J Cash, C O'Shaughnessy; S Donohoe, B Malone, G Staples; G Malone, J Cash; E Nolan, E Doyle, R Banville; C Hearne, AJ Lehane, C McCabe. Subs: J Donohoe for Banville (50); P O'Leary for Hearne (54); T Barron for Staples(56); B Murphy for Doyle (58); C Manley for O'Brien (59).

Kilanerin - T Hughes; A Jones, C Kavanagh, R Owley; D Jones, G O'Toole, P Hughes; N Hughes, N Breen; M Boland, S Forde, D O'Toole; P Hughes, M Forde, C Devitt. Subs: M Gethings for S Forde (17); S Forde for Gethings (30); B Hughes for Jones (34); E O'Toole for Peter Hughes (42); B O'Connor for Boland (42); E Hughes for Kavanagh (46).

GAA Newsletter

Expert GAA analysis straight to your inbox.

Ref - S Whelan (St Martin's)

McCarthy leads the way as Scotstown progress

Scotstown 2-17 Derrygonnelly Harps 1-11 (Ulster club SFC preliminary round)

A stronger, more-experienced Scotstown booked their place in the next round of the Ulster Championship, courtesy of an effective second-half performance to kill off Derrygonnelly Harps in Clones.

In this entertaining, if hard-hitting, contest played in greasy conditions, Derrygonnelly started the better.

They shaded the exchanges for periods in the first half, at the end of which the sides went in level (Derrygonnelly 1-6, Scotstown 0-9), the Derrygonnelly goal coming from a penalty by Conall Jones in the 20th minute, after Shane McGullion had been brought down.

Scotstown put in a scintillating start to the second half, with four points in the opening three minutes.

Two by Conor McCarthy, one from a free, and one each by Kieran Hughes and Jack McDevitt, opened a four-point lead.

Derrygonnelly, to their credit, stayed in touch in the third quarter.

And it was mostly through Conall Jones.

But the Monaghan men then hit them with two killer goals within two minutes of each other.

The first was from substitute, Ross McKenna, and then Damien McArdle, McKenna the provider, to put them in complete control of the game.

And they coasted home, as the Fermanagh champions finished the game with 14 players.

Declan Cassidy was red-carded in the dying minutes.

Scorers - Scotstown: C McCarthy 0-5 (3f), D McArdle 1-1, R McKenna 1-0, S Carey 0-3 (1f), R Beggan (2f), K Hughes, O Heaphey 0-2 each, R O'Toole, J McDevitt 0-1 each. Derrygonnelly: C Jones 1-2, G Jones 0-4, R Jones 0-2, Stephen McGullion, L Jones, P Ward 0-1 each.

Scotstown - R Beggan; B Boylan, R O'Toole, D McArdle; J McDevitt, D Morgan, E Caulfield; F Caulfield, K Hughes; F Maguire, C McCarthy, J McCarey; S Carey, D Hughes, O Heaphey. Subs: R McKenna for Heaphey (51), M McCarville for Maguire (56), F McPhillips for McDevitt (59), D McCrudden for McCarey (60), J Turley for Boylan (60+4).

Derrygonnelly Harps - J Kelly; M Jones, T Daly, E McHugh; D Greene, D Cassidy, G McGinley; Steven McGullion, R Jones; L Jones, G Jones, Shane McGullion; P Ward, C Jones, G McKenna. Subs: N Gallagher for Shane McGullion, O Smith for Greene (47), K Cassidy for McKenna (50), A McKenna for L Jones (54), S Gilroy for C Jones (Black Card 60+1). Ref - P Hughes (Armagh)

Irish Independent

The Throw-In: Kerry back to their best, Connolly’s return and Cork’s baffling inconsistency

In association with Bord Gáis Energy

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport