Thursday 23 January 2020

Lavin strike sparks Sligo

Connacht MFC semi-final: Sligo 3-12 Leitrim 3-7

An uninspiring first half saw Sligo lead by 0-4 to 0-2 by the 21st minute. Stock photo: Sportsfile
An uninspiring first half saw Sligo lead by 0-4 to 0-2 by the 21st minute. Stock photo: Sportsfile

Sligo's greater firepower saw them qualify for the Connacht final after a slow-burner at Markievicz Park that became a cracker with the second period yielding five goals.

Leitrim, despite wasteful shooting, took the lead after 27 minutes with a goal out of the blue - Sligo 'keeper Alan Davey taking a step over his own goal-line after grabbing a point attempt.

The visitors led by two points at half-time, 1-4 to 0-5, with Caleb Duffy on song. Then came five goals - three for Sligo and two for Leitrim, with Red óg Murphy and Evan Lavin's efforts crucial for Sligo.

SCORERS - Sligo: R óg Murphy 1-2 (2f); C Ryan 0-4; E Lavin 1-1; R Walsh 1-1; L Towey 0-2; R Anderson, B Gorman 0-1 each. Leitrim: O McLoughlin 2-1 (1f); C Duffy 0-3; J Reynolds 1-0; E Harkin, A Hoare, R O'Rourke (1f) 0-1 each.

SLIGO - A Davey; E Lyons, J Ellis, J Weir; B Cox, E Lavin, O Conlon; N Colsh, B Gorman; R Anderson, L Towey, C O'Dowd; C Ryan, R óg Murphy, K McKenna. Subs: M Cahill for óg Murphy (BC,38), R Walsh for O'Dowd (39); J Stephenson for Anderson (52), J McMunn for Lavin (60+2), B Tuohy for Colsh (60+4).

LEITRIM - E Gallagher; C Dwyer, S Harkin, E Harkin; C Cullen, S Chandler, M Diffley; A Hoare, R Sheridan; O McLoughlin, J Clancy, R O'Rourke; D Devanney, C Duffy, J Reynolds. Subs: M Keegan for Cullen (h-t), C Kiernan for Devanney (30), P Prior for Diffley (56), P Kelly for Reynolds (60+1), C Kenny for Keegan (60+4).

Ref - L Devenney (Mayo)

Boyle inspires Galway salvo

Galway 1-13 Roscommon 1-6

GAA Newsletter

Expert GAA analysis straight to your inbox.

Liam Boyle produced a classy display as a late blitz kept Galway on course for a third provincial title in a row.

The wing-back kicked 0-3 from play to kill off the gutsy challenge of a Roscommon side who led with ten minutes to go but didn't score after that.

A goal from Brian Derwin put Roscommon in front but Boyle levelled just before the break. Ronan Dowd and Sean Henry gave the Rossies the lead before Galway reeled off four points in a row, and sub Conor Newell wrapped it up with a goal.

Derwin had a penalty saved by Oran Burke.

Scorers - Galway: C Newell 1-0, L Boyle 0-3, B Harlowe, P Costello (1f) 0-2 each, E Murphy (f), D Silke, C Campbell, M Barrett, D Silke, E McFadden 0-1 each. Roscommon: B Derwin 1-3 (0-2fs), R Dowd 0-2, S Henry 0-1.

Galway - O Burke; E McFadden, S Mulkerrin (c), S Fitzgerald; J Glynn, G Burke, L Boyle; M Barrett, M Kerrigan; B Harlowe, E Murphy, C Potter; R Cunningham, P Costello, D Silke. Subs: C Campbell for Potter (41), C Newell for Cunningham (49), M Tierney for Silke (59), C Walsh for Murphy (62).

Roscommon - A Brady; P Halpin, E Flynn, G Galvin; D Gately, D Ruane, P McManus; C Corcoran, C Kennelly; O Lennon, C Heneghan, S Henry; R Dowd, B Derwin, C Fahey (c). Subs: P Carey for Fahey (41), S Hanley for Lennon (53), J Martin for Ruane (56), M Conroy for Halpin (58, BC), A Lyons (Castlerea) for Carey (60).

Ref - E O'Grady (Leitrim

Irish Independent

The Throw-In: New era for Dublin, all up for grabs in the hurling league and club final heroics

In association wth Allianz

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport