Monday 18 December 2017

Last-gasp McGuigan snatches final berth for Pat's

St Patrick's Maghera 2-14 Summerhill Col Sligo 3-10

St Patcrick's Maghera's Shane McGuigan. Photo: Sportsfile
St Patcrick's Maghera's Shane McGuigan. Photo: Sportsfile Newsdesk Newsdesk

Shane McGuigan pointed a last-gasp free in Enniskillen as St Patrick’s Maghera came from three points down heading into injury-time to snatch a place in the All-Ireland final.

Kyle Cawley’s 47th-minute penalty, converted at the second attempt after St Pat’s goalkeeper Sean Cassidy was adjudged to have been off his line when saving the initial effort, put Summerhill into the lead for the first time.

Points from Nathan Rooney, Paddy O’Connor and Stephen Mulligan looked to have been enough for the Sligo school, who had centre-back Sean Power controversially sent off early in the second half.

But the Derry side were then awarded a late penalty that Francis Kearney fired to the net off the post, before McGuigan steered over a 35-yard free at the death to seal the win for the MacRory Cup champions.

Cathal Herron netted Summerhill’s second goal, but Sligo senior star Cawley, who also netted in the first half, was shown a black card late on.

McGuigan got St Pat’s first half goal and they led by 1-8 to 1-4 at the break.

 St Pat’s will now take on St Brendan’s Killarney in the final, which will be played at Croke Park on Saturday week.

Scorers – St Pat’s: F Kearney 1-5 (1-0 pen, 0-2fs), S McGuigan 1-4 (0-2fs), O McWilliams 0-2, O McKeever, P McCormack, F Higgins 0-1 each; Summerhill: K Cawley 2-2 (1-0 pen, 0-1 ‘45’), C Herron 1-2, N Rooney 0-4 (3fs), S Mulligan, P O’Connor 0-1 each.

St Patrick’s – S Cassidy; O McKeever, P Turner, C Mulholland; P McCormack, S Downey, C McAllister; D McPeake, J Doherty; P Kearney, P Quigg, O McWilliams; C Darragh, S McGulgan, F Kearney. Subs: F Higgins for McKeever (35), C McLoughlin for Downey (39), M Mullan for Darragh (55), C Glass for McWilliams (55).

Summerhill – O Conway; D Fallon, A Cummins, B Cox; C McGovern, S Power, S Mulligan; P O’Connor, K Banks; C Lally, C Herron, D O’Hara; K Cawley, N Rooney, R Sweeney. Subs: C Darcy for Sweeney (34), C Feeney for Fallon (37), K Connell for Cummins (50), D Kilrehill for Cawley (BC, 56).

Ref – N McKenna (Monaghan).

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport