Friday 18 October 2019

Last gasp McGoldrick points snatches Longford glory for Killoe Emmet Óg


Daniel Mimnagh had a key role for Killoe Emmet Óg. Photo by Harry Murphy/Sportsfile
Daniel Mimnagh had a key role for Killoe Emmet Óg. Photo by Harry Murphy/Sportsfile

Frank Roche

KILLOE EMMET ÓG claimed their 12th Longford senior football title in dramatic fashion at Glennon Brothers Pearse Park this afternoon, courtesy of a Ronan McGoldrick point in the death throes of injury-time.

It spelled heartbreak for Longford Slashers, who had drawn level through an Andrew Kelly free barely a minute earlier.

But Killoe, the pre-match favourites and leaders for most of the hour, patiently worked one more opportunity just as the clock ticked beyond the four allotted extra minutes.

And it was only fitting that Daniel Mimnagh, their most influential player, would play the final pass for McGoldrick to fist over, securing a first SFC crown since 2015.

His team had led by 0-5 to 0-4 at half-time and subsequently moved three points clear before Slashers battled back to parity twice in the closing stages.

But Killoe were marginally the more deserving winners and now advance to a Leinster club first round date away to the Westmeath champions, either St Loman’s or Garrycastle.

SCORERS - Killoe: D Mimnagh, S McCormack (1f) 0-3 each, R McGoldrick 0-2, M Hughes, S Kiernan, D McGoldrick, C Farrelly 0-1 each. Slashers: A Kelly 0-5f, R Clarke 0-3 (2f), C Farrell 0-2 (1 ‘45’, 1f), P Foy 0-1. 

KILLOE EMMET ÓG: S Fitzpatrick; L Hughes, P McCormack, G Hughes; N Farrelly, M Quinn, R Moffett; D Mimnagh, S Kiernan; D McGoldrick, S McCormack, E Keogh; M Hughes, R McGoldrick, C Farrelly. Subs: C Dooner for Hughes (40), P Thompson for Kiernan (56), E Clarke for D McGoldrick (56), J Donnelly for Keogh (57).

GAA Newsletter

Expert GAA analysis straight to your inbox.

LONGFORD SLASHERS: C Farrell; R Kenny, B Gilleran, P Duggan; P Foy, D Brady, S Clarke; G Flynn, N Mulligan; R O’Connell, A Dalton, A Kelly; Ruairí Clarke, Robbie Clarke, C Clarke. Subs: P Lynn for Mulligan (37), C Kavanagh for R O’Connell (40), D O’Connell for Ruairí Clarke (60), D O’Brien for Foy (61), B Walsh for C Clarke (64).

REF: P Maguire (Granard)

Online Editors

The Throw-In: 'Jim Gavin has achieved what Mick O'Dwyer and Brian Cody couldn't do'

In association with Bord Gáis Energy

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport