| 12°C Dublin

Last-gasp Doogue lands title for Laois

TEENAGE star Sinead Doogue scored a sensational winning point at Dr Cullen Park to give Laois their first provincial crown since 2007.

The 18-year-old fired over the winner with just 20 seconds left.

Doogue's winner capped a superb comeback for Laois, who trailed by 1-10 to 1-7 in the closing minutes before sub Olywn Farrell netted after Doogue's shot was saved.

Sin-binnings for Jenny Rispin and Louise McKeever cost Meath. The sides were level six times, including at half-time, 1-4 apiece.

Laois got off to a dream start when Martha Kirwan netted after just 20 seconds, but Meath responded with a penalty from Elaine Duffy.

After the break, Meath hit five unanswered points to move into a 1-10 to 1-7 lead, with sub Ger Doherty kicking three points. But they had reckoned without Doogue.

Scorers -- Laois: T Lawlor 0-4 (3f), Martha Kirwan, O Farrell 1-0 each, M Dunne 0-2, Mary Kirwan (f) and S Doogue 0-1 each. Meath: E Duffy 1-2 (1-0 pen, 0-1f), G Doherty, K O'Brien (2f) 0-3 each, G Nulty 0-2.

LAOIS -- C Dollard; L Hyland, G Dunne, E Healy; A Taylor, J Moore, M McEvoy; A Casey, T Lawlor; Mary Kirwan, A Moore, M Dunne; Martha Kirwan, S Doogue, G Weston. Subs: O Farrell for Martha Kirwan (h-t), D Callanan for M Dunne (50), A Quigley for Hyland (56).

MEATH -- I Munnelly; L McKeever, A Murray, O Sheridan; S Bennett, E Rahill, K Allen; K O'Brien, G Nulty; C O'Shaughnessy, E Duffy, F Mahon; J Rispin, M Sheridan, V McCormack. Sub: G Doherty for Duffy (42).

Ref -- P Kehoe (Carlow).

Irish Independent