Monday 21 January 2019

Kirwan pulls strings to steer Naas home

Naas CBS 2-8 Coláiste Eoin 0-6

Wexford prop up the Division Three table
Wexford prop up the Division Three table

Rónán Mac Lochlainn

Naas CBS cruised past a disappointing Coláiste Eoin in their Leinster Senior 'A' Football Championship semi-final in Blessington on Saturday.

While Coláiste Eoin improved in the final quarter, they never looked likely to reel in their dominant opponents, and second-half goals from Darragh Kirwan and Luke Griffin were just reward for Naas' supremacy.

An early point from Tomás Ó hEachthigheirn handed the Stillorgan school an early lead but frees from Colm Joyce and Griffin inched Naas ahead before a levelling score from Conor Cinseallach after 13 minutes.

From this point, Naas assumed complete control, with Kirwan hugely effective from wing-forward, and the movement of their inside-forward line caused numerous problems for the Coláiste Eoin full-back line.

Griffin added two further frees prior to Kirwan landing Naas' first score from play in the 19th minute.

With Conall Ó Gallchobhair a classy operator at full-back, Naas edged further clear through points by Jordan McGarr and Joyce, with a late free from Fionn Ó Ceallaigh trimming the deficit to 0-7 to 0-3 by half-time.

Kirwan's well-taken goal within three minutes of the restart maintained Naas' momentum and when his point attempt dropped short in the 40th minute, Griffin availed of some defensive hesitancy to flick past goalkeeper Stiofán Ó Mathúna, effectively settling the issue.

Cinseallach and Peadar Ó Cofaigh-Byrne drove their team forward from that point but a Pádraig Puirséil point and two Ó Ceallaigh frees proved insufficient.

Scorers - Naas CBS: L Griffin 1-3 (0-3fs), D Kirwan 1-1, C Joyce 0-3 (1f), J McGarr 0-1. Coláiste Eoin: F Ó Ceallaigh 0-3fs, C Cinseallach, T Ó hEachthigheirn, P Puirséil 0-1 each.

Naas CBS - D Morrissey; E Prizeman, C Ó Gallchobhair, J Hamill; C Daly, J Sargent, B Stynes; I Blackburne, R Boran; D Kirwan, T O'Connor, B Kehoe; L Griffin, C Joyce, J McGarr. Subs: R Monaghan for Daly (45), H Carroll for Blackburne (49), K Thompson for McGarr (55), S Davis for Stynes (56), M O'Byrne for Kehoe (60).

Coláiste Eoin - S Ó Mathúna; C Mac Giolla Phádraig, F Potts, M Mac Eoin; D Ó Floinn, C Cinseallach, N Ó Moynihan/Ó Brádaigh; J Ó Tuama, P Ó Cofaigh-Byrne; D Ó Dúgáin, T Ó hEachthigheirn, A Ó Cuinn; P Puirséíl, F Ó Ceallaigh, T Ó Néill. Subs: C Mac Dáibhéid for Mac Giolla Phádraig (28), E Ó Ceallacháin for Ó Néill (40), S Ó Fiachna for Ó hEachthigheirn (45), S Ó Cinseallaigh for Ó Dúgáin (49), D Ó Ciardha for Ó Moynihan/Ó Brádaigh (56), L Ó Rodaigh for Ó Cuinn (63).

REF - D Hickey (Carlow)

Indo Sport

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport