Wednesday 22 August 2018

Kirwan hands first senior 'A' title to Naas

Naas CBS 0-9 Marist College 0-7

(stock photo)
(stock photo)

Brian Lowry

Naas CBS made history on Saturday by claiming their first Top Oil Leinster Post Primary Schools senior 'A' football title and in doing so became the first Kildare school in 95 years to win it.

With Darragh Kirwan excelling for the Kildare men, they had to really grind it out, with Marist College, Athlone pushing them all the way in what was a poor game of football.

Speaking afterwards, Naas CBS manager Ronan Joyce insisted it was all about getting the job done, regardless of the standard.

"It is all about the result. A lot of lads didn't go as well as they could, but they worked as hard as they could and at the end of the day it is all about getting over the line.

"Fair play to the Marist, they put it up to us all day and there was just a kick of the ball in it in the end.

"They are super lads, they put in a huge shift all year and I am delighted for them. We dug it out in the last few games and I am just delighted for them."

Marist College were quite wasteful in the opening half and rued those missed chances as Naas CBS went in 0-6 to 0-3 ahead at the break.

After the Athlone school introduced Josh Beaumont they looked like turning a corner, as he landed two points on route to them drawing level midway through the second-half.

With the game in the melting pot, it was the men from Naas who stepped up and points from Aaron Deegan and Kirwan sealed the win and an All-Ireland semi-final meeting with Rice College, Westport later this month.


Scorers - Naas CBS: D Kirwan 0-3, C Joyce 0-2 (2f), K Thompson, R Boran, L Griffin & A Deegan 0-1 each. Marist College: S Cunnane (2f), K Colclough (1f) & J Beaumont (1f) 0-2 each, C Sugrue 0-1.

Naas CBS: D Morrissey; E Prizeman, C O'Gallchobhair, J Hamill; C Daly, J Sargent, B Stynes; I Blackburne, R Boran; B Kehoe, T O'Connor, K Thompson; C Joyce, L Griffin D Kirwan. Subs: S Davis for O'Gallchobhair, A Deegan for Kehoe (50), L Broderick for Blackburne (53), H Carroll for O'Connor (60+2)

Marist College: C Dolan; S McGonagle, P Frost, K Connor; P McGettigan, E Mulvihill, I O'Rourke; S Cunnane, S Allen; F Kelleher, K Colclough, S Dowd; T O'Carroll, E Derwin, C Sugrue. Subs: R Dempsey for McGonagle (6, temp), J Beaumont for Kelleher (HT), C McBrearty for Derwin (45), D Prendergast for Dowd (56), B McDonnell for O'Rourke (60+1)

Ref - S Mulhare (Laois)

Subscribe to The Throw-In,'s weekly GAA podcast in association with Allianz, for the best in GAA discussion and analysis every week, with some of the biggest names in football and hurling from Joe Brolly, Tomás Ó'Sé and John Mullane.

Subscribe and listen to The Throw-In podcast on iTunes or SoundCloud.

Irish Independent

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport