Wednesday 24 January 2018

Kingdom recalls for Donaghy and Scanlon

Kieran Donaghy battles for possession with Mayo's Donal Vaughan.
Kieran Donaghy battles for possession with Mayo's Donal Vaughan.
Colm Keys

Colm Keys

Kerry have been forced to concede that Bryan Sheehan will not be fit to face Cork in Sunday's crunch Munster SFC semi-final at Pairc Ui Chaoimh.

With Sheehan ruled out, Seamus Scanlon has been recalled for his first championship start since the 2011 Munster quarter-final victory over Tipperary.

The current All Star midfielder jarred a knee in training last week and, after a consultation with a specialist, it was decided not to play.

Kieran Donaghy has been recalled after making an impact on his introduction against Tipperary in the Kingdom's last match.

Donaghy comes in for Paddy Curtin, while Daniel Bohan -- the choice of some as Man of the Match the last day -- also loses out as Marc O Se is recalled.

O Se sat out the Tipperary match as a precaution to rest a hamstring injury.

Aidan O'Mahony has been named at full-back, but Kerry have carefully deployed their defenders on a man-for-man basis under Jack O'Connor and that is unlikely to change any time soon, especially not for such an important game as Sunday's.

Meanwhile, Sligo have left injured pair David Kelly (ankle) and Eamonn O'Hara (knee) out of their team to play an unchanged Galway side on Saturday, but Kelly could yet play some part.

Johnny Martyn is recalled at full-back in place of Noel McGuire, who played against New York in the championship opener.

Eugene Mullen takes over from Tony Taylor at midfield in the other change from the team that won in New York so comprehensively.

Kerry (SF v Cork) -- B Kealy; M O Se, A O'Mahony, K Young; T O Se, E Brosnan, P Crowley; A Maher, S Scanlon; P Galvin, Declan O'Sullivan, Darran O'Sullivan; C Cooper, K Donaghy, K O'Leary.

Sligo (SF v Galway) -- P Greene; N Ewing, J Martyn, R Donovan; C Harrison, M Quinn, P McGovern; S McManus, E Mullen; B Egan, P Hughes, A Costello; S Coen, A Marren, M Breheny.

Galway (SF) -- A Faherty; K McGrath, F Hanley, K Kelly; G Bradshaw, J Duane, G O'Donnell; J Bergin, G Higgins; G Sice, D Burke, T Flynn; S Armstrong, P Conroy, M Hehir.

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport