Thursday 22 March 2018

Kildare make three changes for win or bust qualifier with Monaghan

Eoghan O'Flaherty, Kildare, in action against Conor Toner, left, and Declan Rooney, Down
Eoghan O'Flaherty, Kildare, in action against Conor Toner, left, and Declan Rooney, Down
Cliona Foley

Cliona Foley

KILDARE'S Eoghan O’Flaherty has been rewarded for scoring 0-3 off the bench against Clare with a starting spot for Saturday's win-or-bust last 12 qualifier against Monaghan in Croke Park.

Manager Jason Ryan has made three changes from the team that needed to scored the last seven points in Ennis to survive by just a one-point margin.

Mick Foley has also been recalled to fullback and Tomas O’Connor returns to full-forward, with White, Emmet Bolton and Podge Fogarty the three to lose out.

The Lilywhites are still in with a shout of making the All-Ireland quarter-finals but will need to up their game significantly against a side who are expected to hit back after surrendering their Ulster title to Donegal last time out.

Monaghan named an unchanged team last night, as did Cork for their All-Ireland SFC quarter-final against Mayo on Sunday.

Cork manager Brian Cuthbert made widespread changes last week for their qualifier with Sligo but has stuck with them.

However Donncha O’Connor, finally back from injury, makes a significant return to the Rebel’s bench for the first time this summer and John Hayes is also among their squad after serving a one-match ban from the Munster final.

Despite a worry over Gary O’Donnell’s shoulder injury which forced him off before half-time against Tipperary, Galway have named him at centre-back in an unchanged starting 15 for their tough quarter-final against Kerry.

KILDARE (SF v Monaghan): H Donnellan; C Fitzpatrick, M Foley, M O’Grady; O Lyons, F Conway, K Cribbin; T Moolick, P O’Neill; C McNally, N Kelly, E Callaghan;A Smith, T O’Connor, E O’Flaherty.

MONAGHAN – R Beggan; R Wylie, D Wylie, C Walshe; D Mone, V Corey, F Kelly; D Clerkin, D Hughes; P McKenna, S Gollogly, P Finlay; D Malone, K Hughes, C McManus.

CORK (SF v Mayo) – K O’Halloran; J Loughrey, E Cadogan, N Galvin; M Shields, T Clancy, B O’Driscoll; I Maguire, A Walsh; P Kerrigan, M Collins, C O’Driscoll; C O’Neill, B Hurley, D Og Hodnett.

GALWAY (SF v Kerry) – T Healy; D O’Neill, F Hanley, J Moore; G Bradshaw, G O’Donnell, P Varley; F O Curraoin, T Flynn; M Lundy, S Walsh, J Kavanagh; M Martin, P Conroy, D Cummins.

Online Editors

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport