Tuesday 22 October 2019

Kerry fight back to claim sixth straight Munster crown

Munster JFC final: Kerry 1-14 Cork 0-13

Stock photo: Sportsfile
Stock photo: Sportsfile

Independent.ie Sportsdesk

Kerry turned things around in the second half to claim a sixth straight title at Páirc Uí Rinn last night.

Having been 0-9 to 1-5 down at half-time, seven unanswered points put the Kingdom in firm control. The key score came just before the break as Stephen O'Sullivan's goal cut a four-point lead to the minimum, 0-8 to 1-4.

Michael Foley levelled for the visitors and they could have had a second goal through Brandon Barrett, but Chris Kelly saved.

Eoin O'Shea put Cork ahead again in injury-time, but O'Sullivan, Daniel Daly, Jack Brosnan and Barry O'Dwyer all had points as Kerry asserted themselves on the resumption.

Gary Murphy did end Cork's drought in the 54th minute, but Kerry had put themselves in a secure position by then and had four points to spare by the end.

With Garry Murphy, Fintan O'Connor and Anthony O'Connor on song, Cork had made the most of the wind at their backs. They impressed in the first half and amassed a four-point lead by the 25th minute. However, the goal proved to be the crucial score.

Scorers - Kerry: S O'Sullivan 1-3, D Daly 0-4 (3f), B O'Dwyer 0-3, J Brosnan, E O'Brien (45), C Teahan, M Foley 0-1 each. Cork: G Murphy (2f), A O'Connor (2f, 1 '45) 0-4 each, S Hickey, F O'Connor 0-2 each, E O'Shea 0-1.

Kerry - E O'Brien; C Ó Murchú, P O'Connor, P 'Jackie' O'Sullivan; J Brosnan, M Breen, Michael Foley; JM Foley, N Breen; P O'Connor, C Farley, B Barrett; Stephen O'Sullivan, D Daly, B O'Dwyer. Subs: C Teahan for N Breen (5, black card), T Lynch for Barrett (53), J Crean for Farley (58), J Spillane for O'Dwyer (60).

GAA Newsletter

Expert GAA analysis straight to your inbox.

Cork - C Kelly; P Clancy, P Murphy, G McCarthy; K Cremin, J Mullins, G O'Callaghan; B 'Terry' O'Sullivan, P Walsh; F O'Connor, A O'Connor, S Aherne; G Murphy, S Hickey, E O'Shea. Subs: L Wall for O'Callaghan (23, injured), S 'Terry' O'Sullivan for Aherne, T Corkery for B 'Terry' O'Sullivan (both 42), E O'Callaghan for Walsh (49), E Goggin for O'Shea (55), G Kelleher for F O'Connor (59).

Ref - D O'Callaghan (Limerick)

Irish Independent

The Throw-In: 'Jim Gavin has achieved what Mick O'Dwyer and Brian Cody couldn't do'

In association with Bord Gáis Energy

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport