Tuesday 17 July 2018

Kerry, Cork and Clare all advance after opening round of Munster minor football championship

Independent.ie Newsdesk

Independent.ie Newsdesk

Kerry began their quest for a third straight All-Ireland minor football title with a comprehensive 2-21 to 1-2 hammering of Waterford at Fraher Field tonight.

It was Peter Keane's first game as Kerry minor manager after replacing Jack O'Connor following the county's final triumph last September but there was no slip in standards. Ferdia O'Brien stood out for the winners, notching 2-1, while David Clifford, who recently starred for St Brendan's in their Hogan Cup final victory, kicked 0-5.

Elsewhere, Cork booked their place in the semi-finals after a narrow 1-14 to 1-11 victory over Tipperary. Colm O'Callaghan's first half goal proved decisive for the Rebels as they moved into the next round.

Strangely, their final four opponents could be Tipperary again, only this time they would have to play them in Thurles.

The Premier County will play Limerick in a playoff after the Treaty county were defeated by a single point against Clare, 0-9 to 1-5.

Joseph McGann kicked the winning point - his third of the night - two minutes from time.

Online Editors

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport