Saturday 18 November 2017

James O'Donoghue and Kieran Donaghy will both start for Kerry against Tyrone

Kerry's Kieran Donaghy lifts his team mate James O'Donoghue, in the air after victory over Donegal in last year's All Ireland Football Final
Kerry's Kieran Donaghy lifts his team mate James O'Donoghue, in the air after victory over Donegal in last year's All Ireland Football Final
Frank Roche

Frank Roche

ÉAMONN FITZMAURICE has kept his Tyrone counterpart Mickey Harte guessing by naming James O'Donoghue in his Kerry team for Sunday's All-Ireland SFC semi-final.

The reigning Footballer of the Year has been included despite suffering his latest shoulder injury against Kildare less than three weeks ago - a setback that placed a major doubt over his participation this weekend.

Those question marks won't have been entirely dispelled by last night's announcement, even though Fitzmaurice insisted at last week's Kerry press night that "medically, once he is okay, he will be in the shake-up."

Even with O'Donoghue's inclusion, the Kerry boss still makes three changes from the starting 15 that demolished Kildare.

Current All Star Peter Crowley is recalled at centre-back in place of Aidan O’Mahony, Johnny Buckley takes Bryan Sheehan's place on the '40' while fit-again skipper Kieran Donaghy resumes at full-forward, Paul Geaney losing out.

There was one change on the Tyrone team that defeated Monaghan at the All Ireland Quarter Final, Justin McMahon replaces his brother Joe at Centre Half Back.

The Kerry team is as follows:

1. Brendan Kealy Kilcummin

2. Paul Murphy Rathmore

3. Marc Ó Sé An Ghaeltacht

4. Shane Enright Tarbert

5. Jonathan Lyne Killarney Legion

6. Peter Crowley Laune Rangers

7. Killian Young Renard

8. Anthony Maher Duagh

9. David Moran Kerins O’Rahillys

10. Stephen O’Brien Kenmare

11. Johnny Buckley Dr Crokes

12. Donnchadh Walsh Cromane

13. Colm Cooper Dr Crokes

14. Kieran Donaghy (C) Austin Stacks

15. James O’Donoghue Killarney Legion



16. Brian Kelly Killarney Legion

17. Aidan O’Mahony Rathmore

18. Bryan Sheehan St Marys

19. Paul Geaney Dingle

20. Barry John Keane Kerins O’Rahillys

21. Darran O’Sullivan Glenbeigh-Glencar

22. Fionn Fitzgerald Dr Crokes

23. Paul Galvin Finuge

24. Tommy Walsh Kerins O’Rahillys

25. Pa Kilkenny Glenbeigh/Glencar

26. Alan Fitzgerald Castlegregory


The Tyrone team is as follows:

1) Niall Morgan - Edendork

2) Aidan McCrory - Errigal Ciaran

3) Ronan McNamee - Aghyaran

4) Cathal McCarron - Dromore

5) Ronan McNabb - Dromore

6) Justin McMahon - Omagh

7) Peter Harte - Errigal Ciaran

8) Colm Cavanagh - Moy

9) Matthew Donnelly - Trillick

10) Tiernan McCann - Killyclogher

11) Mark Bradley - Killyclogher

12) Conor Meyler - Omagh

13) Darren McCurry - Edendork

14) Sean Cavanagh - Moy

15) Connor McAliskey - Clonoe



16) Michael O'Neill - Clonoe

17) Lee Brennan - Trillick

18) Rory Brennan - Trillick

19) Conor Clarke - Omagh

20) Richard Donnelly - Trillick

21) Danny McBride - Strabane

22) Conall McCann - Killyclogher

23) Joe McMahon - Omagh

24) Padraig McNulty - Dungannon

25) Ronan O'Neill - Omagh

26) Barry Tierney - Omagh

Online Editors

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport