| 10.1°C Dublin

In brief: Three captains for Tribesmen

New Galway manager Tomás O Flatharta has taken the unusual step of naming three captains to lead the Tribesmen for 2011.

The former Westmeath boss will take charge of Galway for the first time when they face Sligo in the opening round of the FBD Connacht League on Sunday.

O Flatharta has named three players -- defenders Kieran Fitzgerald and Finian Hanley, and last year's skipper Michael Meehan -- as the Galway captains for the new season.

"I have named three captains for the year and our thinking is very team-orientated: we are not about individuals," said O Flatharta.

"I expect that we'll have many leaders and captains by the end of the year. The way we think about it is that we don't base it on individuals, it is a team game."

The Kerryman was appointed for three years in the autumn, as Joe Kernan's term came to an end after just one season.

Galway will be hoping to reverse last year's Connacht semi-final loss to the Yeatsmen when they take on Kevin Walsh's side at Enniscrone on Sunday.

Dual star Keaney set to decide Dubs future

CONAL KEANEY is expected to decide whether to throw his lot in with the Dublin hurlers or footballers by the end of this week.

Keaney is believed to have met with both football manager Pat Gilroy and hurling boss Anthony Daly in recent weeks. Speculation regarding his future intensified yesterday when he missed the footballers' first 6.30am training session of the year.

Keaney opted to remain with the footballers last season but featured only sporadically, as he failed to start a league game before regaining a starting spot for the championship games with Meath and Wexford.

However, he was limited to appearances off the bench from there on, featuring as a substitute against Tipperary, Louth, Tyrone and Cork -- and hurling manager Anthony Daly has made it known that he'd accommodate the Ballyboden man on his panel.

Owens to lead Fermanagh

Injury-plagued Fermanagh defender Barry Owens has been named as the county's captain for the McKenna Cup campaign. The former All Star played in the Erne county's challenge match against Monaghan on Monday and reported no ill-effects.

Owens, a long-term absentee from the county squad because of injury, returned to action with his Teemore club last summer. Fermanagh's first match is on Saturday night against UUJ at Brewster Park.

The other two teams in Section A are holders Donegal -- under new manager Jim McGuinness -- and Ulster champions Tyrone, who meet at Healy Park on Sunday.

Irish Independent