Ignore noise - match officials get it right
Credit where it's due to referee Cormac Reilly and linesman Maurice Deegan, arising from an incident which left Kildare manager Cian O'Neill and Lilywhite supporters incensed after Daniel Flynn had a goal disallowed against Cork last Sunday.
Reilly ruled out the score after having his attention drawn by Deegan, who adjudged that Flynn had hopped the ball twice on his way towards goal.
"I've never seen it before and I'm involved a long time. Apparently, the linesman has the power to overrule if it's a technical foul, which is what was said to me. For me, the referee's decision is always final," said O'Neill.
Read more: Defections, doubters and droughts
And so it was in this case too as Reilly made the decision, having been alerted to the foul by Deegan. The rule states clearly that linesmen, during a break in play, "can draw the referee's attention to any instances of foul play which haven't been noticed by the referee. They may also, if requested by the referee, assist in determining the validity of a score."
Read more: Time for operation transformation
Play stopped when the goal was scored; Deegan drew Reilly's attention to 'foul play' (double hop) and assisted in "determining the validity of a score". In fact, it was an example of excellent teamwork by the officials, despite the hostile reaction from the crowd.
Actually, we should see more cooperation like this, which is perfectly in order under rule.