Thursday 14 December 2017

History calls for Cuthbert

Brian Cuthbert is bidding to become the first Cork man to both captain and manage All-Ireland-winning minor teams.

Cuthbert, who is in charge of the Cork minors -- with Gene O'Driscoll, Andrew McCarthy, Jerome Walsh and Donal O'Sullivan -- was a powerful forward on the 1993 Cork team that beat Meath by 2-7 to 0-9 in the All-Ireland final.

With the exception of Eoin Sexton and Martin Cronin, none of that Cork team went on to have sustained senior careers.

In contrast, six of the Meath team (Hank Traynor, Paddy Reynolds, Darren Fay, Trevor Giles, Ollie Murphy and Barry Callaghan) went on to win All-Ireland medals in both 1996 and 1999.

If Cork win Sunday's minor final, they will move into joint top spot with Kerry on the leaderboard with 11 titles.

Tyrone are chasing their seventh title, their fourth in a decade, which underlines just how smoothly their underage machinery is working.

Irish Independent Sport Star Awards

Pick our magic sports moment of the year and win a trip for two to London. To view the shortlist and cast your vote click here.

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport