Monday 11 December 2017

Hickey steers Glencar/Manor to four in row


Glencar/Manorhamilton became only the third team to win the title four times in a row when they defeated St Mary's at Pairc Sean MacDiarmada, Carrick-on-Shannon yesterday.

Niall Comerton opened the scoring for St Mary's after two minutes with a pointed free, with Glencar/Manor's Gerry Hickey restoring parity in the fourth minute. The sides exchanged further points in the opening 20 minutes to leave the scores 0-3 a piece going into the final 10 minutes of the half.

Glencar/Manor, playing with a strong breeze, squandered several scoring chances as they dominated possession, although three points without reply by Adrian Croal, James Glancy and Brian McDonald in the final two minutes gave them a deserved half-time lead of 0-6 to 0-3.

Within two minutes of the restart St Mary's reduced the arrears to the minimum with points from substitute Clement Cunniffe and Robert Lowe, but the expected fightback failed to materialise as the more experienced Glencar/Manor took control of the game.

Points from Man of the Match Gerry Hickey in the 43rd and 53rd minutes -- between St Mary's only second-half score from Comerton in the 51st -- maintained daylight between the sides. The St Mary's challenge faded in the closing stages as Glencar/Manor emphasised their superiority with points from Brian McDonald in the 55th minute and Anthony McDonald two minutes from time.

SCORERS -- Glencar/Manorhamilton: G Hickey 0-3 (1f), J Glancy 0-2 (1f), B McDonald, A McDonald 0-2 each, A Croal 0-1). St Mary's: N Comerton 0-3 (2f), C Cunniffe, C Farrell, R Lowe 0-1 each.

GLENCAR/MANORHAMILTON -- Gary Hickey; T McDonald, A O'Flynn, M Ponaird; D Kelly, P Maguire, S Loughlin; F McGourty, D Sweeney; Gerry Hickey, C Ryan, A McDonald; A Croal, B McDonald (capt), J Glancy. Subs: A Hickey for C Ryan, K O'Flynn for M Ponaird, M McGourty for T McDonald, E Sweeney for A Croal.

ST MARY'S -- A Conway; J Cassidy, D Tiernan, D Reynolds; N McWeeney, B Butler, J Glancy; C McWeeney, D Lowe; J McGrail, R Lowe, C Farrell; N Comerton (capt), B O'Donnell, C O'Reilly. Subs: C Cunniffe for C O'Reilly, J O'Rourke for C McWeeney, M Greene for B O'Donnell, V McDermott for J Glancy.

REF -- F Flynn(Aughawillan)


Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport