Friday 15 November 2019

Hickey sets the tone for Kilmurry men to retain title

Kilmurry-Ibrickane 0-10 St Joseph's 0-4

Kilmurry-Ibrickane proved that they are modern-day kingpins of Clare football when they claimed a second senior title in a row and a fourth in five seasons in Ennis.

In a repeat of last year's final, the holders built up a winning lead early on and enjoyed 0-8 to 0-1 lead at half-time. Similar to 12 months ago, Kilmurry's greater experience was vital.

Man of the Match Niall Hickey kicked their opening score, with two further points by wing-back Thomas O'Connor and midfielder Peter O'Dwyer inside 10 minutes.

St Joseph's scoring chances in the opening half, though few, were snuffed out by a combination of bad finishing and strong play by the Kilmurry backs. With O'Dwyer and Ian McInerney dominant in the centre of the park, the champions controlled matters.


Joseph's had to wait until injury-time to open their account when Cathal O'Sullivan pointed from distance.

The winners were well prepared by former Kerry star John Kennedy and even though they only registered two scores in the second period, their intelligent passing game served them well throughout.

Early second-half scores by Niall Hickey and a free from Ian McInerney were replied to by three from Cathal Duggan for St Joseph's, who had Greg Lyons sent off with eight minutes remaining on a second yellow card. Kilmurry, who won their 13th title, introduced 37-year-old Odran O'Dwyer in the second half to claim his seventh medal since 1993.

GAA Newsletter

Expert GAA analysis straight to your inbox.

Scorers -- Kilmurry: N Hickey, I McInerney (3f) 0-3 each, T O'Connor, P O'Dwyer, N Downes, J Daly (f) 0-1 each. St Joseph's: C Duggan 0-3 (2f), C O'Sullivan 0-1.

Kilmurry-ibrickane -- P O'Dwyer; M McMahon (capt), D Hickey, S Hickey; T O'Connor, P O'Connor, D Callinan; P O'Dwyer, I McInerney; N Hickey, M O'Dwyer, E Talty; E Coughlan, J Daly, N Downes. Subs: S Murrihy for Talty (49), O O'Dwyer for Daly (50), M McCarthy for P O'Dwyer (58), C Morrissey for McInerney (60).

St Joseph's -- D O'Keeffe; P Nugent, S Collins, M Brooks; S Flynn (capt), K Dilleen, D Malone; A O'Neill, M Hallinan; G Lyons, C O'Sullivan, P Dullaghan; D O'Brien, I Whyte, C Duggan. Subs: E Lyons for Malone (22), B Clancy for O'Brien (42), C O'Brien for Hallinan (49), L Brannock for Dullaghan (50), E Clohessy for O'Sullivan (59).

Ref -- M Rock (Ennistymon).

Irish Independent

The Throw-In: 'Jim Gavin has achieved what Mick O'Dwyer and Brian Cody couldn't do'

In association with Bord Gáis Energy

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport