Monday 23 October 2017

Harte makes two changes for Tyrone's trip to Tipp

Tyrone manager Mickey Harte
Tyrone manager Mickey Harte

Daragh Small

Mickey Harte has made two changes to the Tyrone side for today's tricky their Round 3B qualifier against Tipperary at Semple Stadium.

Killyclogher's Tiernan McCann and Edendork clubman Darren McCurry come into the team as the sides clash for the first time in the Championship, although their recent U-21 showdown will add bite to this one.

Tipp boss Peter Creedon has made two changes to his side for the clash in Thurles. Moyle Rovers clubman Martin Dunne and Brian Fox from Eire Og Annacarty will both start.

Galway manager Kevin Walsh has made just one switch to his side as they host Derry in their Round 3B qualifier at Pearse Stadium.

Claregalway speedster Danny Cummins comes into the attack in place of Sean Denvir.

Galway had the perfect preparation for this game with a hard-fought 1-12 to 0-12 over Armagh at the Athletic Grounds last Saturday.

This is only the third time these sides have met in the Championship and Derry will be looking for their first win over Galway. On the two previous occasions they met, Galway, with Walsh at midfield, went on to win the All-Ireland titles, in 1998 and 2001.

Brian McIver has full faith in his Derry side and kept the same starting 15 for the clash in Salthill.

Donegal and Monaghan, who meet for the third year in a row in the Ulster final, will finalise their sides later today. It's the first time since the 1920s that Monaghan have made it to three successive provincial finals.

Tyrone (SF v Tipperary) - N Morgan; A McCrory, R McNamee, C McCarron; R McNabb, J McMahon, P Harte; C Cavanagh, M Donnelly; T McCann, M Bradley, R Brennan; D McCurry, S Cavanagh, C McAliskey.

Tipperary - E Comerford; C McDonald, P Codd, J Feehan; S Kennedy, P Acheson, A Campbell; C O'Riordan, M Dunne; B Fox, C Sweeney, L Casey; K O'Halloran, Michael Quinlivan, P Austin.

Galway (SF v Derry) - B O'Donoghue; J Duane, F Hanley, C Sweeney; L Silke, G O'Donnell, G Bradshaw; F Ó Curraoin, T Flynn; G Sice, P Conroy, M Lundy; Peadar Óg Ó Griofa, D Comer, D Cummins.

Derry (v Galway) - T Mallon; O Duffy, C McKaigue, D McBride; L McGoldrick, B Rogers, SL McGoldrick; N Holly, F Doherty; B Heron, M Lynch, E Lynn; D Heavron, E Bradley, C O'Boyle.

Indo Sport

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport