Thursday 22 March 2018

Harte brings in McNeice and McNabb for crunch Down replay

Mickey Harte
Mickey Harte
Cliona Foley

Cliona Foley

TYRONE boss Mickey Harte has made two changes to his team for tonight's Ulster SFC replay against Down in Newry.

Ronan McNabb replaces wing-back Tiernan McCann, whose debut was cut short by a hamstring injury last week, and Paddy McNeice replaces Mark Donnelly at right half-forward in a reversal of last weekend's late pre-match switch.

McNabb's inclusion is a surprise, considering he was not among the three defensive substitutions made by Harte last week.

Equally surprising is that Down's Benny Coulter has failed to break into their unchanged starters, despite coming off the bench to heroically shore up midfield.

Sean Leo McGoldrick has returned from injury to line out for Derry in tomorrow's Ulster SFC clash with Donegal, but has surprisingly been named at centre-forward, while Mark Lynch is named at centre-back.

Derry have three championship debutants in Thomas Mallon, Gareth McKinless and Kevin Johnson.

In Ruislip a calf problem will stop London's All Star nominee Lorcan Mulvey from starting tomorrow's Connacht SFC clash with Galway, but he is expected to be on their bench.


The Exiles' include only nine of the team that started last year's Connacht final, but they do have six Galway natives lining out in Mark Gottsche, Damien Dunleavy, Paul Geraghty and Eoin O'Neill, plus former Tribesmen 'keeper Adrian Faherty and O'Neill's brother Cathal.

Tommy Fitzgerald and Conor Dunne come into the Laois hurling team, who face Antrim in the final round of Leinster's round-robin.

Fitzgerald replaces Cha Dywer in the full-forward line and Dunne takes Tommy Delaney's place at midfield. A win or a draw will see Laois play Wexford in the Leinster quarter-finals, while tomorrow's losers will face Galway.

Elsewhere, most of the second raft of proposals from the Football Review Committee (FRC) are expected to be defeated at Central Council today.

One proposal that is expected to garner support is to complete the All-Ireland club championship within one calendar year.

Today's meeting has had to be moved to the Citywest Hotel because of the One Direction concerts at Croke Park.

Tyrone (SF v Down) – N Morgan; A McCrory, D McBride, B Tierney; R McNabb, M Donnelly, P Harte; C Cavanagh, C Clarke; P McNeice, S Cavanagh, C McGinley; D McCurry, N McKenna, K Coney.

DERRY (SF v Donegal) – T Mallon; D McBride, G McKinless, C McKaigue; K Johnson, M Lynch, G O'Kane; F Doherty, Patsy Bradley; C McFaul, SL McGoldrick, E Lynn; B Heron, E McGuckin, C O'Boyle.

LONDON (SF v Galway) – A Faherty; P Butler, S Curran, D McCarthy; S Hannon, T Gaughan, M Walsh; M Gottsche, M Carroll; G Crowley, D Dunleavy, C O'Neill; E O'Neill, P Geraghty, J Feeney.

LAOIS (SH v Antr im) – E Reilly; J A Delaney, B Campion, B Stapleton; J Fitzpatrick, M Whelan, D Palmer; C Dunne, P Whelan; J Purcell, W Hyland, S Maher; N Foyle, R King, T Fitzgerald.

Irish Independent

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport