Tuesday 21 November 2017

Glory for Michael Murphy, Cillian O'Connor hits FOUR goals and Carbery Rangers win first Cork County championship

Cillian O’Connor bagged 4-4 for Ballintubber today, as they beat Garrymore 6-18 to 1-8 in the Mayo SFC quarter-final today.

There were 11 county finals around the country today, which also marked the start of the Ulster Club SFC.

Colm Cooper’s Dr Crokes beat Kenmare District by 2-16 to 1-12 to claim their fifth Kerry title in just seven years at Fitzgerald Stadium.

Michael Murphy’s Glenswilly beat Kilcar by a point in the Donegal SFC final today, with the Donegal captain's goal proving the difference in the 1-10 to 0-12 win.

In Parc Uí Rinn, Carbery Rangers sealed their first ever Cork Championship with a 1-15 to 1-12 victory over Ballincollig.

Kilcoo (Down) also beat 13-man Scotstown (Monaghan) by 1-8 to 0-9 points in the first round of the Ulster SFC earlier today, with Jerome Johnston scoring the only goal of the game.

In Celtic Park, Slaughtnell scored 2-11 against Loup (0-6) to claim the Derry SFC title.

Sarsfield secured the Kildare title with a 2-13 to 0-15 win over Moorefield.

Elsewhere, Stradbally were the victors in the Laois county final, ending Portlaoise's 10 in-a-row bid with a 2-10 to 1-12 victory thanks to John Dillon's last minute goal.

In Armagh, Maghery (1-13) beat Cullyhanna (0-12) at the Athletic Grounds.

Cargin beat St Gall’s by 1-10 to 0-6 in the Antrim SFC final in Corrigan Park, and Rhode beat Ferbane (1-14 to 0-9) to be crowned Offaly champions.

Mullinalaghta also beat Abbeylara by 1-8 to 0-8 to seal the Longford title.

Online Editors

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport