Thursday 22 February 2018

Gilroy bids to match Counihan and make it third time lucky

While Jack O'Connor pursues what would be his fourth All-Ireland senior managerial success with Kerry, Pat Gilroy is hoping that it will be third time lucky on Sunday.

It's a timeline which proved a winner for Conor Counihan last year, Billy Morgan in 1989 and Eamonn Coleman in 1993. So, what's the optimum season for a manager to make a first All-Ireland break-through? Here's the running order since team management (in the individual sense) first became part of Gaelic games in the mid-1970s.

1974: Kevin Heffernan (Dublin) 1st

1975: Mick O'Dwyer (Kerry) 1st

1982: Eugene McGee (Offaly) 6th

1987: Sean Boylan (Meath) 5th

1989: Billy Morgan (Cork) 3rd

1991: Pete McGrath (Down) 2nd

1992: Brian McEniff (Donegal) 3rd (third term)

1993: Eamonn Coleman (Derry) 3rd

1997: Paidi O Se (Kerry) 2nd

1998: John O'Mahony (Galway) 1st 2002: Joe Kernan (Armagh) 1st 2003: Mickey Harte (Tyrone) 1st 2004: Jack O'Connor (Kerry) 1st 2010: Conor Counihan (Cork) 3rd

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport