| 7.4°C Dublin

Gilmore goals crucial for Cookstown

Tyrone champions Cookstown turned on the power in extra-time to win their second provincial title at this grade in four seasons at the Athletic Grounds.

They needed a late equaliser from substitute Jason Quinn to send a thrilling decider to added-time, but were totally dominant after Warrenpoint had two players sent off, coasting to an eight-point success.

John Gilmore's two goals inspired a Fr Rocks side skippered by Tyrone star Owen Mulligan.

"With three minutes to go and Warrenpoint leading by a point, we were delighted to go into extra-time," said Cookstown manager John McKeever. "Really we trained hard this year and our fitness told in the end, with our support play and our work rate. I'm delighted for the boys, because they have put in a massive effort.

"Credit to Warrenpoint, it was going to go to the wire, and I knew it was the flip of a coin, but I'm delighted we just got away from them in extra-time."

Ross McGarry kicked four of the Down club's five first-half points from frees, but Gilmore's 27th-minute goal sent Cookstown in with a 1-5 to 0-5 interval lead.

James McGahan netted a second goal for the Tyrone men five minutes into the second half, but Gabriel Smith's 51st-minute goal, followed by two more McGarry scores, saw the Mourne men go in front.

Quinn rescued Cookstown, making it 2-7 to 1-10 at the end of normal time, and the game turned irreversibly in their favour when Gilmore grabbed his second goal.

Warrenpoint's Ruairi Cowan (second yellow) and Shea Curran (straight red) were dismissed, and their challenge withered. Cookstown outscored their opponents by five points to one in the second period of extra-time as they coasted to the title.

SCORERS – Cookstown: J Gilmore 2-2, J McGahan 1-3 (2f), O Mulligan 0-3 (2f), S McGarrity, C Mullan, J Quinn, B Mulligan, P Kelly 0-1 each. Warrenpoint: R McGarry 0-9 (8f), G Smith 1-1, G Morgan 0-1.

Cookstown – M Rea; B Kelly, S Monaghan, D Hughes; R Pickering, M Murray, C O'Hare; C Mullan, Barry Mulligan; S McGarrity, B Hughes, M Hughes; J Gilmore, O Mulligan, J McGahan.

Subs: M O'Connor for Monaghan, J Quinn for McGarrity, Brian Mulligan for M Hughes, P Kelly for O'Hare, T Mullan for Barry Mulligan, Barry Mulligan for D Hughes, P McGurk for B Kelly, M McVeigh for McGahan.

Warrenpoint – T Franklin; A Grimes, N McCartan, M O'Hare; R Boyle, C McCartan, J Murchan; R Mallon, P Traynor; G Smith, R Cowan, C McLoughlin; R McAleenan, R McGarry, G Morgan. Subs: S Curran for McLoughlin, J Grant for Morgan, C Clarke for Cowan, Cowan for Smith.

Ref – P Hughes (Armagh)

Most Watched