Wednesday 22 November 2017

Gibbons goal sinks Shrule

Ballintubber 1-8 Shrule-Glencorrib 0-6

THE second of the Mayo semi-finals at McHale Park was an unexpectedly one-sided affair as Ballintubber made it to their first ever senior final despite only scoring one point in the second half of a poor game.

Ballintubber were into their stride early and had pulled 1-5 clear after 18 minutes. The goal was superbly struck by Jason Gibbons on 16 minutes, with the midfielder also adding a point.

Tom Earley, Cillian O'Connor, Alan Dillon and Alan Plunkett were also on target for Ballintubber, who led by 1-7 to 0-2 at the break.

Despite failing to score until the 58 minute, when Plunkett hit the target, Ballintuber held out against a Shrule-Glencorrib side who found it difficult to break down their defence.

Scorers -- Ballintubber: J Gibbons 1-1, A Plunkett 0-3, A Dillon (0-1f), T Earley, P O'Connor and C O'Connor 0-1 each. Shrule-Glencorrib: C Mortimer 0-3 (0-2f), M Ronaldson 0-2, K Conroy 0-1.

Ballintubber -- N Gibbons; G Loftus, C Hallinan, P Earley; T Earley, J Feeney, R O'Connor; D Geraghty, J Gibbons; G Dillon, A Dillon, A Plunkett; M Nestor, P O'Connor, C O'Connor. Subs: D Coleman for Dillon, D Gavin for Plunkett.

Shrule-Glencorrib -- P Conroy; R Walsh, David Geraghty, Dermot Geraghty; N Sullivan, L Garvey, D Walsh; J Lohan, K Conroy; J Martyn, K Walsh, R Warde; C Mortimer, M Ronaldson, T Mortimer. Subs: P Bruen for Martyn, B Murphy for Warde, K Walsh for Lohan.

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport