Saturday 17 March 2018

Geaney leads Kingdom surge past Sligo

Kerry 2-12 Sligo 1-6 All Ireland MFC Q-Final

Brian Ó Seanacháin celebrates scoring Kerry's first goal past Conor McGovern
Brian Ó Seanacháin celebrates scoring Kerry's first goal past Conor McGovern
Kerry's Jason Foley under pressure from Alan McLoughlin
Sligo's Liam Gaughan is tackled by Darren Brosnan
Daniel O'Brien, 7, and Darren Brosnan, do their best to keep up with Sligo's Kyle Cawley Newsdesk Newsdesk

Classy Kerry cruised to an All-Ireland semi-final meeting against Derry on August 23 after a convincing victory in Tullamore.

Sligo showed plenty of pride and passion but simply couldn't live with the Kerry men who were ably led by sharpshooting corner-forward Conor Geaney.

The cousin of senior stars Michael and Paul was in exceptional form as he helped himself to 1-4 throughout the 60 minutes.

Brian Ó Seanacháin blasted the ball to the net six minutes into the game and although Sligo raised a gallop before the break, it was the Kerry men who led 1-6 to 0-3 at the interval.

Geaney and John Mark Foley added points after the restart for Kerry as they showed no signs of wilting while the Sligo men were fading.

While Kerry were never in any danger, they really put the game to bed midway through the second half when Geaney found the net after Stephen O'Sullivan had done brilliantly in the build-up.

Kyle Cawley did register a consolation goal for the Sligo men but it wasn't going to stop the Kingdom leaving O'Connor Park with Croke Park and an All-Ireland semi-final in their sights after an accomplished display.

Scorers - Kerry: C Geaney 1-4 (1f), B Ó Seanacháin 1-0, S O'Shea (1f), G White & D O'Brien 0-2 each, JM Foley & R Buckley 0-1 each. Sligo : K Cawley 1-0, F Cawley (1f) & R Kennedy (1f) 0-2 each, L Gaughan & C Lally 0-1 each.

Kerry - B Courtney; D Brosnan, Jason Foley, J Morgan; G White, M Breen, D O'Brien; A Barry, John Mark Foley; B Barrett, B Ó Seanacháin, S O'Shea; S O'Sullivan, B Sweeney, C Geaney. Subs: M Foley for O'Sullivan (44), T O'Sullivan for Brosnan (48), E Cronin for O'Shea (49), R Buckley for JM Foley (52), J Duggan for Barrett (56), D O'Shea for Breen (57).

Sligo - C McGovern; M O'Dowd, E McGuinness, B Mahon; N Mullen, D Cummins, M Gordon; K Banks, P Kilcoyne; L Gaughan, R Kennedy, F Cawley; S Power, P O'Connor, K Cawley. Subs: A McLoughlin for O'Connor (29), N Rooney for Mullen (45), C Lally for Banks (53), C Herron for Kennedy (58), O Gilmartin for McGuinness (BC, 58).

Ref - J Hickey (Carlow)

Irish Independent

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport