Wednesday 22 November 2017

Gavin recalls O'Sullivan as Bastick ruled out by injury

Jim Gavin has recalled All-Star Cian O’Sullivan to the Dublin midfield for their Leinster semi-final against Kildare tomorrow
Jim Gavin has recalled All-Star Cian O’Sullivan to the Dublin midfield for their Leinster semi-final against Kildare tomorrow

Declan Rooney

Jim Gavin has recalled All-Star Cian O'Sullivan to the Dublin midfield for their Leinster semi-final against Kildare tomorrow.

The only change to the side that defeated Longford has been forced upon the Dublin manager, with Bastick ruled out because of an ankle injury.

There is still no place for Rory O'Carroll or Michael Darragh Macauley in the starting side, while Bernard Brogan has shook off the effects of a hand injury to take his place.

While the players named in the forward line are the same as those that demolished Longford, Gavin has reshuffled his pack with Kevin McManamon moving to the half-forward line, with Diarmuid Connolly at full-forward.

Kildare manager Jason Ryan has made one change with Eoin Doyle replacing the injured Fergal Conway in the half-back line.

Ryan has resisted the temptation to call up Niall Kelly and Tommy Moolick and keeps faith with the forwards that kicked 3-12 between them to oust Tomás Ó Flatharta's side.


Meanwhile, Meath manager Mick O'Dowd has made five changes to the side that struggled past Wicklow in the Leinster quarter-final ahead of their semi-final against Westmeath.

Gone from the staring side are full-back Brian Power, wing-backs Nicky Judge and Davy Dalton, midfielder Adam Flanagan and forward Joe Wallace. In comes Conor McGill, Mickey Burke, Brian Menton, Kevin Reilly and Mickey Newman.

Armagh boss Kieran McGeeney has made his changes at the back for their qualifier tussle with Wicklow. Following their nine-point defeat to Donegal in the Ulster Championship, Mickey Murray and Sean Connell are drafted in at corner-back instead of Finnian Moriarty and Aaron Findon. Wicklow are unchanged from the side that narrowly lost out to Meath.

Rory Gallagher has recalled Colm McFadden for their Ulster semi-final against Derry this evening (7pm).

McFadden is named at corner-forward at the expense of Martin O'Reilly, who drops to the subs' bench, in the only change from their quarter-final win over Armagh.

Dublin (SF v Kildare) - S Cluxton; J Cooper, David Byrne, P McMahon; D Daly, J Small, J McCaffrey; B Fenton, C O'Sullivan; P Flynn, K McManamon, C Kilkenny; D Rock, D Connolly, B Brogan.

Kildare (SF v Dublin)- M Donnellan; C Fitzpatrick, M O'Grady, O Lyons; K Murnaghan, E Bolton, E Doyle; G White, P Cribbin; P O'Neill, E O'Flaherty, C McNally; E Callaghan (capt), A Smith, P Fogarty.

Donegal (SF v Derry) - P Durcan; P McGrath, N McGee, E McGee; M McHugh, K Lacey, F McGlynn; N Gallagher, M McElhinney; C Toye, O MacNiallais, R McHugh; P McBrearty, M Murphy, C McFadden

Meath (SF v Westmeath) - P O'Rourke; J McEntee, C McGill, D Tobin; M Burke, D Keogan, B Menton; H Rooney, K Reilly; A Tormey, P Harnan, G Reilly; M Newman, S Bray, B McMahon.

Armagh (SF v Wicklow) - M McNeice, M Murray, C Vernon, S Connell; A Mallon, C McKeever, J Morgan; E Rafferty, C Rafferty; A Forker, M McKenna, T Kernan; S Campbell, A Murnin, J Clarke.

Wicklow (SF v Armagh) - R Lambert; A Murphy, P Cunningham, C Hyland; D Healy, P McLoughlin, M Kenny; A McLoughlin, D Woods; N Gaffney, S Kelly, D Hayden; P Cronin, T Kelly, J McGrath.

Indo Sport

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport