Sunday 8 December 2019

Garda escort for referee after Dubs squeeze home

REFEREE Joe Curley received a garda escort from the Dr Cullen Park pitch yesterday after the Meath official incensed the home supporters by failing to award a late, close-range free to the home county in an absorbing semi-final yesterday.

Carlow midfielder and man-of-the- match Brendan Murphy made a fine catch some 25 metres from the Dublin goal and, with the Carlow followers baying for a free in, referee Curley blew for a free out -- apparently for overholding.

Carlow led 0-7 to 0-6 at half-time and with former Aussie Rules player Murphy outstanding, the home county appeared to be heading for victory when sub Cathal Coughlan kicked a 59th-minute lead point to make it 0-10 to 0-9.

However, a final Dublin raid yielded a levelling point from sub Barry O'Rourke.

Carlow took the lead from the extra-time throw-in through a splendid Murphy point. But, with Rory O'Carroll, Sean Murray, Nicky Devereux, Cian Mullins, Gary Sweeney and O'Rourke outstanding, the Dubs took a 0-13 to 0-11 half-time lead.

Carlow pressed hard to find an equaliser, but fell just short as the tie ended in controversy.

In the end, it was the greater of pace of the Dublin play that saw them through to a final meeting with Westmeath.

Scorers -- Dublin: D Rock 0-4 (0-3f), B O'Rourke 0-3, D Quinn (Na Fianna), G Sweeney 0-2 each, D Quinn (Lucan Sarsfields), C Dorney, E Keogh 0-1 each. Carlow: B Murphy, D Foley (0-3f) , D Murphy (0-3f) 0-3 each, D Bambrick, D Kinsella, E Byrne, C Coughlan 0-1 each.

GAA Newsletter

Expert GAA analysis straight to your inbox.

Dublin -- V Whelan; E Culligan, R O'Carroll, J McCarthy; J Cooper, S Murray, N Devereux; C Mullins, M Coughlan; David Quinn (Lucan Sarsfields), G McIntyre, N Brogan; David Quinn (Na Fianna), D Rock, G. Sweeney. Subs: T Furman for McIntyre (ht); R Downey for Coughlan (36); C Dorney for Brogan (43); B O'Rourke for David Quinn (Na Fianna) (54); E Keogh for Furman (59); M Coughlan for Dorney (65); S McGuinness for Devereux (injured) (69); L Siwale for Keogh (72).

Carlow -- P Hughes; B J Molloy, S Redmond, J O'Donoghue; A Corcoran, P McElligott, A Callinan; B Murphy, D Foley; D Kinsella, M Clowry, D Bambrick; D Murphy, E Byrne, E Ruth. Subs: C Walsh for Bambrick (ht); C Coughlan for Ruth (45); G Nolan for McElligott (51); J Lowry for Clowry (56); D Bambrick for Walsh (60); C Walsh for Kinsella (75).

Ref -- J Curley (Meath).

Who is your sportstar of the year?

Vote in the Irish Independent Sport Star Awards and you could win the ultimate sports prize.

Prizes include, tickets to Ireland's against Scotland in the Six Nations, All Ireland football and hurling final tickets and much more.

Simply click here to register your vote

Irish Independent

The Throw In: From 1955 heartbreak to 2019's five in-a-row - Inside the Decades of the Dubs

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport