Saturday 20 January 2018

Galway v Roscommon

Sean Armstrong of Galway. Photo: Sportsfile
Sean Armstrong of Galway. Photo: Sportsfile Sportsdesk

They meet in the Connacht final for a second successive year, with Galway having won in a replay last year.

Paths to the final

Galway 0-15 Mayo 1-11

Top Scorers

Sean Armstrong 0-6 (0-3 frees, 0-3 '45s')

Damien Comer 0-2

Gary Sice 0-2 (0-2 frees)


Roscommon 2-23 Leitrim 1-9

Top Scorers

Conor Devaney 2-1

Diarmuid Murtagh 0-7 (0-1 free)

Ciaran Murtagh 0-4 (0-3 frees, 0-1 pen)


Last five championship clashes

2016: Galway 3-16 Roscommon 0-14 (Connacht final replay)

2016: Galway 0-13 Roscommon 1-10 (Connacht final)

2015: Galway 3-15 Roscommon 0-10 (Connacht quarter-final)

2008: Galway 2-16 Roscommon 0-6 (Connacht quarter-final)

2006: Galway 3-7 Roscommon 1-8 (Connacht semi-final)


Three Connacht final clashes

1998: Galway 1-17 Roscommon 0-17 Dr Hyde Park (Replay)

1998: Galway 0-11 Roscommon 0-11, Tuam Stadium

1990: Roscommon 0-16 Galway 1-11, Dr Hyde Park

• Roscommon are seeking their first championship success over Galway since the 2001 Connacht semi-final. Since then, Galway have won seven, with one draw.

• Galway are bidding to win successive Connacht titles for the first time since 2003.

• The last time Roscommon won the Connacht title in Pearse Stadium was in 1978 when they beat Galway.

• Galway last won the Connacht title in Pearse Stadium in 2005 when they beat Mayo.

• Galway and Roscommon have met once already this year, with the Tribesmen winning the FBD League final by 2-14 to 0-15 in Kiltoom in January.

• It's the first time that Galway and Roscommon have met in successive Connacht finals since 1977-78.

Sunday Indo Sport

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport