Wednesday 11 December 2019

Gallagher to the fore as Tyrone secure semi-final spot

Tyrone 1-18 UUJ 0-9

Tyrone eased into the semi-finals with a third straight win at Healy Park, the Red Hands pulling away with a dominant showing after the break.

Several of their new recruits, particularly Kevin Gallagher, showed up well as the holders marched on to a 12-point success.

Tyrone were awarded a 22nd minute penalty for Gerard McCartan's foul on Donnelly, but Conor McAliskey's kick was comfortably saved by Mark McReynolds and UUJ countered immediately to go in front through Emmet McGuckin.

Plunkett Kane and Penrose combined for Cavanagh to slot home a 29th minute goal, and Tyrone outscored their opponents by 1-4 to a single point in the closing seven minutes of the half.

They led 1-9 to 0-7 at the interval and there was another goal chance when Gallagher and Donnelly combined to send Cavanagh in for what looked a certain three-pointer.

However, McReynonds made a wonderful save and Donnelly's effort from the rebound was stopped on the line.

It was one-way traffic at this stage, though, with Plunkett Kane (two) and Joe McMahon adding scores to leave them 11 points to the good with 15 minutes to play.

McAliskey and Kane added to the tally with stylish efforts before the finish.

GAA Newsletter

Expert GAA analysis straight to your inbox.

SCORERS – Tyrone: S Cavanagh 1-5 (3f), M Penrose 0-3, J McMahon, R McKenna, P Kane, C McAliskey 0-2 each; K Gallagher, Mark Donnelly 0-1 each. UUJ: R Donnelly 0-5 (3f, 1 '45'), C Carson, E McGuckin, M Carson, B O'Reilly 0-1 each. .

TYRONE – P McConnell, B Tierney, C McCarron, D McNally, R McNamee, J McMahon, R McKenna, C Clarke, S Cavanagh, K Gallagher, J Lafferty, P Kane, M Penrose, Mark Donnelly, C McAliskey. Subs: D McBride for McNally (h-t), D McEntee for Moore (h-t), Mattie Donnelly for Gallagher (57), T McCann for Cavanagh (59), D McCurry for Penrose (66), A McCrory for McKenna (67).

UUJ – M McReynolds, C Carson, R Moore, D Quinn, E Wade, G McCartan, E Deeney, G Rennicks, E McGuckin, C McKaigue, R Donnelly, G McGovern, M Carson, B O'Reilly, R Corrigan. Subs: D Lynch for O'Reilly (19), D McEntee for Moore (h-t), P Devlin for McGovern (50), D Gorman for Quinn (65), S Teague for Deeney (67), C McKenna for McGuckin (69).

REF – E McBrien (Fermanagh).

Who is your sportstar of the year?

Vote in the Irish Independent Sport Star Awards and you could win the ultimate sports prize.

Prizes include, tickets to Ireland's against Scotland in the Six Nations, All Ireland football and hurling final tickets and much more.

Simply click here to register your vote

Irish Independent

The Throw In: From 1955 heartbreak to 2019's five in-a-row - Inside the Decades of the Dubs

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport