Tuesday 20 February 2018

GAA team news: Cody makes three changes, James McCarthy and Diarmuid O'Connor return

Kilkenny's Richie Hogan
Kilkenny's Richie Hogan
Diarmuid O'Connor
Independent.ie Newsdesk

Independent.ie Newsdesk

Whoever said you shouldn’t change a winning team obviously never observed Brian Cody with the Kilkenny boss making three alterations for Sunday’s All-Ireland SHC semi-final with Waterford

The most notable is the return of 2014 Hurler of the Year Richie Hogan, who shot five points upon his introduction in a scintillating 35 minutes against Galway, while John Power and Shane Prendergast also get the nod.

Cody’s James Stephens club-mate Eoin Larkin misses out after a sub-par Leinster final display while Robert Lennon and former All-Ireland-winning skipper Lester Ryan also drop to the bench.

Opponents Waterford have named both Darragh Fives and Shane Bennett in their starting 15 despite injury concerns as they seek revenge for last year’s defeat to the Cats at the same stage.

Elsewhere, the speculation surrounding the fitness of Dublin defender James McCarthy seems to have abated with the current All-Star half-back named to start against Donegal in tomorrow’s All-Ireland quarter-final.

There were worries in the capital that McCarthy hadn’t recovered in time from a knee injury but his inclusion is the only change in Jim Gavin’s side as they look to banish the memories of their harrowing semi-final defeat two years ago.

Meanwhile, Diarmuid O’Connor has been included in the Mayo starting team for their quarter-final showdown with Tyrone after a late withdrawal from Stephen Rochford’s selection last weekend due to a dead leg.

The current Young Footballer of the Year was replaced by Jason Doherty, who scored 1-1, in their victory over Westmeath but the Ballintubber ace regains his place at left half-forward in a direct switch with Doherty in an otherwise unchanged side.

The biggest weekend turnout of the GAA championships will flock to Croke Park today and tomorrow, with around 145,000 spectators expected for two All-Ireland football quarter-finals and the first hurling semi-final.

A sell-out 82,000 crowed will watch the Mayo-Tyrone (4.0) and Dublin-Donegal (6.0) football games today, followed by a further 45,000 at tomorrow’s Kilkenny v Waterford hurling clash (3.30).

Dublin, the long-time favourites to win the All-Ireland title for the fourth time in six seasons, take on Donegal, the only team to have beaten them in the championship in the Jim Gavin managerial era.

Mickey Harte will lead Tyrone, unbeaten in all competitions this year, into quarter-final action for the 11th time when they face Mayo, who are bidding to reach the semi-finals for a sixth successive year, having come through the qualifiers rather than as Connacht champions this season.

The winners will play Tipperary in the first semi-final on August 21, followed a week later by Kerry v the Dublin-Donegal winners

Kilkenny (SHC semi-final v Waterford): E Murphy; P Murphy, J Holden, S Prendergast (c); P Walsh, K Joyce, C Buckley; C Fogarty, M Fennelly; W Walsh, TJ Reid, J Power; J Farrell, C Fennelly, R Hogan.

Mayo (SFC quarter-final v Tyrone): D Clarke, B Harrison, K Keane, K Higgins, L Keegan, C Boyle, P Durcan, S O'Shea, D Vaughan, K McLoughlin , A O'Shea , D O’Connor, E Regan, A Moran, C O'Connor.

Tyrone (SFC quarter-final v Mayo): N Morgan, A McCrory, R McNamee, C McCarron, T McCann, J McMahon, P Harte, C Cavanagh, M Donnelly, C McShane, N Sludden, R McNabb , C McAliskey, S Cavanagh , R O’Neill.

Dublin (SFC quarter-final v Donegal): S Cluxton; P McMahon, J Cooper, D Byrne; J Small, C O'Sullivan, J McCarthy; B Fenton, MD Macauley; P Flynn, K McManamon, C Kilkenny, D Connolly; D Rock D Connolly, B Brogan.

Online Editors

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport