Monday 19 August 2019

Forde fires Kilanerin to first title after late drama

Kilanerin 0-13 Ballyboughal 0-11 - Leinster IFC Final

Belnaleck led by 0-4 to 0-3 at the break, but Naomh Colmcille began to find their range. Photo: Stock Image
Belnaleck led by 0-4 to 0-3 at the break, but Naomh Colmcille began to find their range. Photo: Stock Image Sportsdesk

Kilanerin survived a late penalty scare to secure a deserved two-point win in an exciting final at Wexford Park.

The Wexford club looked to have done enough when leading by three points, but Ballyboughal launched one final desperate attack two minutes into additional time and forced a penalty, after Gerry Seaver was fouled close to goal.

But to the consternation of the visitors' large following, Ciaran Wynne saw his rising shot strike the crossbar before sliding over for a point, and with the referee calling full-time on the resulting kick-out it allowed Kilanerin to celebrate a first provincial football title.

Kilanerin signalled their intent from the onset with two points from Mattie Forde and Mark Bolan, with Cormac Flynn opening the visitors' account after six minutes.

Little separated the sides for the rest of the half as they continued to exchange points, with three unanswered points from Wynne (two) and Seaver, leaving them level 0-5 each at the interval.

Kilanerin opened the second half with quick-fire points from Niall Hughes and Dean O'Toole, but Ballyboughal responded, and as the game entered the final quarter the sides were level at 0-8 apiece.

Seaver and Ben Callanan edged the Dublin side into a 0-10 to 0-8 lead, but Kilanerin upped the tempo, with Forde pointing three frees to go along with a Hughes point to eventually edge them to a narrow but deserved victory.

Scorers - Kilanerin: M Forde 0-6 (4fs), C Kavanagh, N Breen, N Hughes, M Boland, E O'Toole, D O'Toole, T Boland 0-1 each. Ballyboughal: G Seaver 0-4, C Wynne 0-3 (1f, 1pen), C Flynn, J Rodgers, B Callanan, J Ryan 0-1 each.

GAA Newsletter

Expert GAA analysis straight to your inbox.

Kilanerin - T Hughes; A Jones, B Hobbs, D Jones; R Hughes, C Kavanagh, G O'Toole; N Breen, N Hughes; M Gethings, M Forde, M Boland; E O'Toole, P Hughes, D O'Toole. Subs: C Devitt for R Hughes (30), B Hughes for Gethings (40), T Boland for Breen (52).

Ballyboughal - D Downey; C McGinley, N McElligott, G Dungan; T Rooney, C Flynn, J Rooney; R Downey, C Flynn; K Lynch, J Rodgers, C Wynne; B Callanan, G Rooney; G Seavers. Subs: M Provizors for Cathal Flynn (4), W Cooney for McGinley (23), J Ryan for Provizors (35), J Flynn for Downey (BC 60), Provizors for Rooney (60).

Ref - C Dwyer (Offaly)

Crossan strike seals deal

N' Colmcille 1-9 Belnaleck 0-6 - Ulster Club JFC Final

Matthew Crossan scored a spectacular goal to help Naomh Colmcille triumph at Celtic Park.

The Newtowncunningham side eased ahead with scores from Michael Lynch and Daniel Clarke. It wasn't until the tenth minute that Belnaleck opened their account, and they had to wait until the second quarter for the Joe Heavey gem that brought them level.

Heavey put the Fermanagh men ahead for the first time in the 23rd minute from a free.

The Donegal men went 22 minutes without a score, until Bryan Owens created the opening for Willie Gillespie to curl over a point.

Belnaleck led by 0-4 to 0-3 at the break, but Naomh Colmcille began to find their range. And when sub Don Hegarty sent Crossan in for an angled finish to the bottom corner, there was only going to be one winner, and they sealed the title with Clarke and Gillespie points.

Scorers - Naomh Colmcille: M Crossan 1-0, D Clarke (1f), W Gillespie (1f), M Lynch (1 '45') 0-3 each. Belnaleck: J Heavey 0-3 (2fs), C McBrien 0-2, C McAuley 0-1.

Naomh Colmcille: J Rouleston; R Hegarty, A Devenney, P Friel; G Curran, C Devine, K Gallagher; M Lynch (0-3, 1 '45), D Clarke (0-3, 1f); J Fullerton, R McErlean, O Hilley; M Crossan (1-0), W Gillespie (0-3, 1f), W Lynch. Subs: M Friel for Curran (43), D Hegarty for Gallagher (43), E Gillespie for Crossan (56), C Matthewson for W Gillespie (59).

Belnaleck - E McGahey; P Owens, C Cullen, R Quigley; S Lewsley, K Connor, M McKenzie; D Lewsley, D McNulty; D McGurn, C McAuley (0-1), P Monaghan; B Owens, C McBrien (0-2), J Heavey (0-3, 2f). Subs: L Cullen for D Lewsley (44), J Owens for B Owens (48), M Gallagher for McNulty (55), G Presley for P Owens (57).

Ref - M Farrelly (Cavan)

Irish Independent

The Throw-In All-Ireland Hurling Final preview: Can Tipp's firepower edge clash with the Cats?

In association with Bord Gáis Energy

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport