Saturday 24 February 2018

Farrell strike proves decisive as Mayo hold Galway at bay

Mayo 1-12 Galway0-13

Mayo's Darragh Joyce in action against Galway's Aidan Claffey
Mayo's Darragh Joyce in action against Galway's Aidan Claffey

Declan Rooney

A strong second-half and Andrew Farrell's 19th-minute goal saw Mayo pick up their 29th provincial title at this grade at Pairc Sean MacDiarmada.

After shooting nine points before the break, Galway managed just another two in the last 23 minutes as Mayo stayed in touch through their dominant spells thanks to Damien McGing's accuracy from dead balls and Farrell's bright play at full-forward.

Galway, who featured a number of Kevin Walsh's extended squad, including the excellent Enda Tierney at midfield, would have been disappointed to go in level at the break after they held a 0-6 to 0-2 lead after 16 minutes.

Mayo had taken an early lead, as a fine point from Farrell on the turn after seven minutes gave them a 0-2 to 0-1 advantage, but with Peter Cooke becoming an increasing influence at centre-forward, the Tribesmen took control.

Cooke drilled over a free to level matters in the tenth minute and straight from the kickout Galway pulled clear when Richard Fahy pointed after he gathered the break.

Cooke was on the mark once again with another well-struck free, before Paul Whelehan and Matthew Reddington chipped in for the Tribesmen.

It looked as if Mayo would be blown away by the in-from Tribesmen at that stage, but after Darren Durcan pointed, Farrell struck the game's vital goal when he gathered the rebound of Eoin O'Donoghue's strike which crashed back off the crossbar.

That goal came as Mayo experienced their best period of the game, as they went from four points behind to three points up in the space of seven minutes.

But with Cooke, Whelehan and Tierney all on target Galway were relieved to go in all square at the interval.

Tierney was in driving second-half to give the Tribesmen the lead, but from that juncture Mayo bossed the encounter.

A '45' from Farrell and a free from McGing gave Mayo a slight advantage, and further scores from Sean Gaughan and Darragh Joyce sealed the win.

Scorers - Mayo: A Farrell 1-2 (1 '45'), D McGing 0-4 (4fs), D McHugh, M Forde (f), D Durcan, D Joyce, C Horan, S Gaughan 0-1 each. Galway: P Whelehan 0-4 (2fs), P Cooke (3fs), E Tierney 0-3 each, P E Seoighe, M Reddington, R Fahy 0-1 each.

Mayo - B Forkan; P Barrett, B Moran, B Leonard; E O'Donoghue, D McHugh, M Barrett; P Collins, P Feerick; D Durcan, B Carr, G Conway; D Joyce, A Farrell, D McGing,

Subs: S Gaughan for Conway (23), C Horan for Barrett (29), A Gallagher for Durcan (36), M Forde for McGing (42), J Keane for O'Donoghue (55), K Newell for Horan (60).

Galway - M Dolan; A Claffey, A Kyne, C Ó Domhnaill; P E Seoighe, J Shaughnessy, J Heaney; E Tierney, E Commins; M Redington, P Cooke, R Fahy; C Kennedy, P Whelehan, A Hernon. Subs: M Day for Ó Domhnaill (23), N Walsh for Fahy (h-t), F Cooney for Reddington (39), M Fox for Kennedy (50), T Mullins for Commins (53).

Ref - P Daly (Roscommon).

Indo Sport

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport