Sunday 26 May 2019

Farrell and Johnson point way for Offaly

Offaly 1-17 Westmeath 1-10

Brian Lowry

Cian Farrell and Cian Johnson once again led the way as Offaly U-20s continued their 100pc championship record to advance to the Leinster semi-final next weekend.

The hosts were not flattered by their seven-point winning margin in Tullamore as they eased off towards the end.

Westmeath started strongly and moved into a 0-4 to 0-2 lead, but the Faithful men clicked into gear in the second quarter and never looked back.

Offaly got on top all over the field and hammered home their dominance, with ace forwards Farrell and Johnson bagging 12 points between them.

A series of Farrell frees helped push Offaly into a 0-10 to 0-5 interval lead, with Westmeath struggling in the latter stages of the half despite the best efforts of corner-forward Brian Kavanagh, who finished with 1-4.

By the 43rd minute, Offaly had opened up a 0-16 to 0-6 lead, and Westmeath had no answer to their direct and hard running.

Ferbane's Johnson landed four points from play and he could have also had a couple of goals, with one effort crashing back off the crossbar and another saved by Eoin Geraghty.

Kavanagh notched a close-range goal to start a late Westmeath revival and with five minutes to go they had a massive chance to cut the gap further.

GAA Newsletter

Expert GAA analysis straight to your inbox.

Adam Loughlin stood over a penalty but Offaly keeper Barry Rohan saved well to end any chance of a late comeback.

Offaly substitute Jack Darcy got himself in on the scoring act with a late goal as the home side booked a last-four date with Dublin or Meath.




Scorers - Offaly: C Farrell 0-8 (7fs, 1 '45'), C Johnson 0-4, J Darcy 1-0, S O'Brien 0-2 (1f), D Wyer, C Dunne, P Robilliard 0-1 each. Westmeath: B Kavanagh 1-4, C Dillon 0-2, D Reid, J Tumulty, A Loughlin, S Pettit (f) 0-1 each.

Offaly - B Rohan; R Hynes, P Robilliard, A Bracken; J O'Brien, S Geoghegan, J Quinn; K Higgins, S Ibbotson; K McDermott, C Farrell, D Wyer; C Johnson, C Dunne, S O'Brien. Subs: E Bennett for Geoghegan (HT), R Galbriath for Wyer (53), J Darcy for S O'Brien (54), A Delaney for Ibbotson (59), S O'Brien for J O'Brien (60+2)

Westmeath - J Nugent; E Bracken, G Carr, J Moran; C Dillon, E Nally, P Maxwell; A Loughlin, J Tumulty; D Reid, N Harte, J Maxwell; T Molloy, S Pettit, B Kavanagh. Subs: E Geraghty for Nugent (11), B Treanor for Moran (22), S Clinton for Nally (28, blood), Clinton for Reid (44), K Regan for Harte (53), R Forde for Dillon (55)

Ref - P Maguire (Longford)

Indo Sport

The Throw-In: Limerick’s uphill task, Tipp’s ruthlessness and can Cork push on?

In association with Bord Gáis Energy

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport