Saturday 25 November 2017

Egan keeps Tourlestrane title defence on course

Tourlestrane 2-9
Ballymote 0-8
Eastern Harps 2-13
Geevagh 1-10

Two second-half goals from county minor Brian Egan -- on 41 and 54 minutes -- proved key as defending champions Tourlestrane overcame Ballymote at Markievicz Park.

Ballymote led by 0-7 to 0-4 at half-time but missed a great goal chance two minutes after the restart and Tourlestrane capitalised to draw level within three minutes.

Egan then stuck for the vital goals, while substitutes Stephen Henry and Niall Egan also helped close the game out as the south Sligo men aim to be the first side in 21 years to successfully defend the Owen B Hunt Cup.

SCORERS - Tourlestrane: Brian Egan 2-2 (0-1f, 0-1 '45), G McGowan 0-3 (0-3f), J Marren 0-2, G Gaughan (0-1f) N Egan 0-1 each. Ballymote: P Lyons 0-4 (0-2f), M Munds, D McTernon (0-1f) N Clancy, M Irwin 0-1 each.

TOURLESTRANE -- S Gildea; K Brennan, E Haran, B Kennedy; N Gaughan, D Durkin (capt), G Gaughan; S Dunne, A McIntyre; B Kirrane, Brendan Egan, J Marren; J Leonard, Brian Egan, G McGowan. Subs: S Henry for Haran (37), N Egan for Leonard (49), S King for Kirrane (50), J Quinn for Marren (58)

BALLYMOTE -- M Flannery; D Clark, C McGowan, D Tighe; M Doddy, P Mullin (capt), K Feely; F Sexton, N Clancy; D McTernon, M Munds, P Lyons; M Sweeney, M Irwin, G Brennan.

REF -- M Duffy (Enniscrone-Kilglass).

Eastern Harps set up a repeat of last year's final against Tourlestrane thanks to a six-point win over Geevagh at Markievicz Park.

County star Kenneth Sweeney inspired Geevagh to a deserved 0-7 to 0-6 half-time lead. However, the introduction of Colm Gallagher inspired Eastern Harps from the restart and Paul Taylor's goal on 37 minutes signalled their dominance.

Taylor set up Michael Doddy for Harps' second goal in the 44th minute, with Cormac Hughes getting a late consolation goal for Geevagh.

SCORERS -- Eastern Harps: P Taylor 1-5 (0-4f), M Doddy 1-0, J Rafferty 0-3, C Gallagher 0-2, R Hannon, R Donovan, K Gallagher 0-1 each. Geevagh: K Sweeney 0-4 (0-3f), C Hughes 1-1, P Hughes 0-2, S McManus, K McGrath, P Cawley 0-1 each

EASTERN HARPS -- B McHugh; S King (capt), B Cryan, R Donovan; K Gallagher, P McGovern, P Rafferty; P Grady, T Taylor; G Horan, K Carty, M Doddy; R Hannon, P Taylor, D Hannon. Subs: C Gallagher for Carty (h-t), N McGill for Doddy (54).

GEEVAGH -- D Kearns (capt); S O'Rourke, L McDonagh, E McDonagh; D Smith, S McManus, S Mullaney; P Cawley, K Byrne; K Sweeney, P Hughes, E McManus; K McGrath, C Hughes, D O'Reilly. Subs: D McTiernan for Smith (25), C McManus for McGrath (45), B Curran for O'Rourke (52)

REF -- M Duffy (Enniscrone-Kilglass)

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport