Thursday 23 January 2020

Dubs remain unloved on individual awards circuit

Mayo's Andy Moran. Photo: Sportsfile
Mayo's Andy Moran. Photo: Sportsfile

Last year's GAA season ended with Andy Moran being voted Footballer of the Year by his peers and this one has started with Damien Comer winning the first PwC GAA/GPA Player of the Month award.

That's two up for the west, thanks to GPA members, who decide such matters. The Galway full-forward saw off strong competition from Dublin players, led by Ciarán Kilkenny, who won the man of the match award in the Allianz League final.

The GPA backed Moran for the ultimate individual award last year, beating Mayo colleague David Clarke and Dublin pair James McCarthy and Stephen Cluxton.

A year earlier, the players chose another Mayo man, Lee Keegan, ahead of Kilkenny and Brian Fenton. Dublin won the 2016 and 2017 All-Ireland titles and this year's league, but when it comes to individual awards, their peers tend to look elsewhere.

It's unusual for the Footballer of the Year award to go outside the All-Ireland-winning camp, but it has happened in successive years for the first time in its 60-year history. And now comes Comer's selection ahead of Dublin contenders. Those with a suspicious disposition might sniff a conspiracy among footballers against Dublin.

GAA Newsletter

Expert GAA analysis straight to your inbox.

Irish Independent

The Throw-In: New era for Dublin, all up for grabs in the hurling league and club final heroics

In association wth Allianz

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport